We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our kids loved it!”

Lincoln Train Museum
Ranked #36 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Celebrating the history and the heroes of America with Abraham Lincoln! Experience the spirit of the men and women who achieved our American independence and freedoms as you ride the rails with Abraham Lincoln at the Lincoln Train museum! Journey with Gettysburg's beloved Jim Getty portraying President Abraham Lincoln as he walks with you through the history of our nation. Experience our operating train layout presenting President Lincoln's funeral journey from Washington DC to Springfield Illinois. Board our simulated funeral train car, The United States, where President Abraham Lincoln's spirit pays tribute to the American heroes and citizens who made our nation what it is and encourages future generations to "Keep the Spirit" of our nation alive. We present displays and historic artifacts of Abraham Lincoln, our native lands and the Wild West with its struggles, heroes and horses. We explore memorabilia of our sports figures and Hollywood stars. We recall the battles and wars our nation has endured and pay tribute to our heroes, the soldiers, veterans, law enforcement and EMS of our country. The museum offers the ideal opportunity to experience our nation's past while fostering an appreciation of our present and a rekindling of hope for our nation's future.
Columbiana, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our kids loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very interesting and well done. My 8 yr old son and 14 yr old daughter (who has always been interested in trains) both enjoyed it very much. It is great for children and very hands-on oriented. The simulated train ride on the funeral train is convincing. It also had interesting, not necessarily related displays which parents can easily browse while their children are entertained by the electronic train set up (can't touch but you can press the buttons to activate trains and other motions) or the "Thomas tables" (I don't think it was actually Thomas). Fun gift shop with lots of options.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Lincoln Train Museum, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed our museum. You must have found our Chuggington layout and not made it to Thomas, he is here too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    50
    31
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I am a train buff so I enjoyed looking at the collection of trains as well as the experience in the Lincoln passenger car was a bit interesting. The staff there in the back room was very attentive to guests.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 51Bob73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Interesting but needs updating. More for younger kids, talks little about the civil war. Can be better but served its purpose.

Helpful?
Thank hrhpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not worth entering”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Was just there yesterday. Where we're the trains? Where was Lincoln? Just a bunch of Chinese made tourist trap junk. So disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, Manager at Lincoln Train Museum, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Norman, did you journey through the museum? Our Hallway of American History is a journey with Abraham Lincoln from the days of our Founding Father's through present day. In the museum itself you can explore our train collection including an interactive operating layout as well as President Lincoln's funeral route in operating layout presenting his journey from Washington DC back to Springfield Illinois. You also have the opportunity to board our recreated funeral car and journey with the Spirit of President Lincoln as he pays tribute to our nation and our heroes past and present. I am sorry you missed this journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
497 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Probably better for families”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We moved through this very quickly. If you have kids or grand kids it probably makes a lot of sense. But, just was not our type of attraction.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Train Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Train Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing