We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trains and presidential history.”

Lincoln Train Museum
Ranked #41 of 108 things to do in Gettysburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Celebrating the history and the heroes of America with Abraham Lincoln! Experience the spirit of the men and women who achieved our American independence and freedoms as you ride the rails with Abraham Lincoln at the Lincoln Train museum! Journey with Gettysburg's beloved Jim Getty portraying President Abraham Lincoln as he walks with you through the history of our nation. Experience our operating train layout presenting President Lincoln's funeral journey from Washington DC to Springfield Illinois. Board our simulated funeral train car, The United States, where President Abraham Lincoln's spirit pays tribute to the American heroes and citizens who made our nation what it is and encourages future generations to "Keep the Spirit" of our nation alive. We present displays and historic artifacts of Abraham Lincoln, our native lands and the Wild West with its struggles, heroes and horses. We explore memorabilia of our sports figures and Hollywood stars. We recall the battles and wars our nation has endured and pay tribute to our heroes, the soldiers, veterans, law enforcement and EMS of our country. The museum offers the ideal opportunity to experience our nation's past while fostering an appreciation of our present and a rekindling of hope for our nation's future.
Mill Hall, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trains and presidential history.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The simulated train ride and displays are excellent for young and young at heart. A feeling of reverence at President Lincoln's Memorial train trip home with thousands of Americans waving farewell to his train.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    52
    37
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We live in Gettysburg but have never visited this museum but decided to try it yesterday as we had eaten nearby. Well I can't tell you if it is a nice place or not--WHY--because we couldn't get anyone to wait on us. We wondered around for over 10 minutes and NO ONE ever came to the counter to help us. We had picked up a few things to buy and also wanted to go thru the museum but NEVER got the chance to!!! We will not be back !!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BJRoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark, de
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great for the train lover”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

many trains to see with lots of track. The little ride of the train through Gettysburg with Abe Lincoln is something I remembered as a child.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank xiolung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun attraction!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lots of fun and very informative. If you love trains, you will love this place. Great information on Lincoln and the funeral train that carried his body back to Springfield after his death. Lots of neat displays in the museum and the train ride itself was a lot of fun. Overall, a fun family attraction.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“save your money”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

this was a waste of time. the "rides" they offer. one is sitting in a chair watching a tv program. the other is a train that moves up and down as if you are riding it. the presentation during the train ride is of Lincoln, explaining how America is great and why you should be a good American. Really has NOTHING to do with the civil war at all.

Also, the first presentation, Lincoln talks about himself, and completely skips over his own assassination. which I don't understand. that was kind of a big deal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank frequentflyer0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Train Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Train Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing