We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“great for the train lover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Train Museum

Lincoln Train Museum
Ranked #29 of 95 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Celebrating the history and the heroes of America with Abraham Lincoln! Experience the spirit of the men and women who achieved our American independence and freedoms as you ride the rails with Abraham Lincoln at the Lincoln Train museum! Journey with Gettysburg's beloved Jim Getty portraying President Abraham Lincoln as he walks with you through the history of our nation. Experience our operating train layout presenting President Lincoln's funeral journey from Washington DC to Springfield Illinois. Board our simulated funeral train car, The United States, where President Abraham Lincoln's spirit pays tribute to the American heroes and citizens who made our nation what it is and encourages future generations to "Keep the Spirit" of our nation alive. We present displays and historic artifacts of Abraham Lincoln, our native lands and the Wild West with its struggles, heroes and horses. We explore memorabilia of our sports figures and Hollywood stars. We recall the battles and wars our nation has endured and pay tribute to our heroes, the soldiers, veterans, law enforcement and EMS of our country. The museum offers the ideal opportunity to experience our nation's past while fostering an appreciation of our present and a rekindling of hope for our nation's future.
newark, de
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great for the train lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

many trains to see with lots of track. The little ride of the train through Gettysburg with Abe Lincoln is something I remembered as a child.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank xiolung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    42
    30
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun attraction!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lots of fun and very informative. If you love trains, you will love this place. Great information on Lincoln and the funeral train that carried his body back to Springfield after his death. Lots of neat displays in the museum and the train ride itself was a lot of fun. Overall, a fun family attraction.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“save your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

this was a waste of time. the "rides" they offer. one is sitting in a chair watching a tv program. the other is a train that moves up and down as if you are riding it. the presentation during the train ride is of Lincoln, explaining how America is great and why you should be a good American. Really has NOTHING to do with the civil war at all.

Also, the first presentation, Lincoln talks about himself, and completely skips over his own assassination. which I don't understand. that was kind of a big deal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentflyer0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice store & outside attraction but would not pay for museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The store was nice, staff friendly. The outside decoration and cabin train was very nice for pictures. In fairness, we did not pay to enter the back museum section. When traveling with a family you need to pick and choose where to spend your money or else you may leave with empty pockets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kings05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is my favorite because it was different than the other museums...It did not talk about the Battle, it was about Lincoln and his journey home. The women who works there was so nice and very helpful. She answered many of our questions, if she did not know the answer she knew where to look and was very happy to do so. The model train was very interesting and shows how Lincoln went home and riding in the train car was also fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marymary1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Train Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Train Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing