We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! This place was fantastic!”

Sidney Willoughby Run
Reserve with OpenTable
Sidney Willoughby Run is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 129 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 30
Description: With a focus on simple ingredients, Chef Annis’ menu features small, elegant bites with sophisticated flavor. The menu, inspired by fresh, local ingredients, will change on a daily basis and has been designed to include a variety of small plates rather than the multi-course offerings of sister establishment, Restaurant Sidney in East Berlin.An extensive selection of liquor, beer, wine and cordials invites guests to relax in an urban contemporary atmosphere. The expansive outdoor seating area offers a serene experience with views of the battlefield land preserved by the National Park Service.
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow! This place was fantastic!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I had a very memorable anniversary dinner. The food was simply fantastic, every course we tried was innovative, tasty, and overall filling. We sampled the artisan cheese board and brussel sprouts as appetizers, the pork belly (awesome) and yellowtail small plates, and duck leg confit and tempura tuna as large plates. All were excellent. Service was also top notch by our waiter Tim. Great job! The ambiance was fine, and did not bother us one bit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InnkeepersGettysburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    38
    13
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a fan, again.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit here. We were not too pleased with our first visit which was months ago, but decided to try it again. Once again we left feeling unhappy. This odd restaurant just seems like they care more about your money than anything else. The parking is inconvenient, the atmosphere (or lack of) is bland and boring, the food is way too salty yet sometimes tasteless, and the service seems lacking as well. It's way overpriced for the experience we're getting. We thought perhaps we didn't give it enough credit on our first try. But we've decided we will NOT be back here, nor will we recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank coupleoffoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tapas at taps”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Wonderful view of fifties Gettysburg golf course while enjoying modern cuisine. Inventive cocktails with small delectable plates. Several free small plates, including peanut carrot soup. Entrees enjoyed were cold potato soup with jalapeno, duck breast, and shrimp and chicken. A red Italian wine to accompany our entrees. Heavenly meringue dessert followed by complimentary small eclairs. Ike would have enjoyed this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Why bother?”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We've tried. Really. Third visit, and the consistency calls for mention. Appetizers are decent, usually, but the main courses, in every case, are completely boring, or, worse, too salty to eat. But this time, it was the decor, or lack of decor that caught our attention. Brown walls, no artwork- that might sound picky, but you get the distinct feeling you're in the waiting room of a train station. The breakfast room at any Comfort Inn is more inviting. This location is within a historical part of Gettysburg, but you'd never know that by how they've sanitized the appearance. Not sure if it would make the food taste any better, but at least it would be a start.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
“different than expected”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Sidney's is located in the clubhouse of the Gettysburg Country Club golf course. That being said, its dining area is really tiny and directly next to the bar. They could use part of their HUGE waiting area to expand and put some distance between the bar and what could be a peaceful dining room. However, the food was delicious. Freshly prepared by the same chef at their East Berlin location (which by the way is in a nicer, colonial-style old historic home). Creative use of food and everything was tasty. Be ware, they encourage you to at least get a "small plate" (like a side dish) and a "large plate" (like the main dish) but just ordering the "large plate" would have been plenty. Waitress and all staff were very friendly and professional. Would go there again but I do prefer the ambience of their East Berlin location.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidney Willoughby Run also viewed

 
East Berlin, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Sidney Willoughby Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing