We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, but don't go hungry.”

Sidney Willoughby Run
Reserve with OpenTable
Sidney Willoughby Run is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 30
Description: With a focus on simple ingredients, Chef Annis’ menu features small, elegant bites with sophisticated flavor. The menu, inspired by fresh, local ingredients, will change on a daily basis and has been designed to include a variety of small plates rather than the multi-course offerings of sister establishment, Restaurant Sidney in East Berlin.An extensive selection of liquor, beer, wine and cordials invites guests to relax in an urban contemporary atmosphere. The expansive outdoor seating area offers a serene experience with views of the battlefield land preserved by the National Park Service.
Summerfield, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food, but don't go hungry.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Based on the Tripadvisor reviews, we visited Sidney's and were very pleased with the quality of the food. Unique and very tasty. However, you need to order an appetizer to go along with the "small palate", or you will leave hungry. I did not particularly care for the crab/mac/cheese appetizer that was recommended by one of your reviewers, as I felt it was somewhat dry and needed more sauce in it. On this particular visit I felt they were understaffed, especially at the bar.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcdjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    38
    13
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Excellent! Excellent! Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I celebrated his birthday at Sidney Willoughby Run while visiting Gettysburg. The restaurant is housed in what was once the club house of a country club golf course. They have indoor and outdoor seating. The menu features small plates to share using fresh, local ingredients. After we ordered we were served an amuse bouche of a smoked salmon bite. My husband and I shared the Garlic Butter Braised Escargot with Roasted Fingerling Potatoes and Wilted Spinach, Magret of Duck and Foie Gras, and the Macaroni and Cheese with Maryland Blue Crab, accompanied by a wonderful Pinot Noir. For dessert, we had the Dark Chocolate Tart and Strawberry Shortcake. The food was excellent and beautifully plated. Megan, our server , took excellent care of us. Take note that the "small plates" are not that small.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

In town for a wedding and my daughter and I were looking for a great place to eat for a couple of "foodies." We had no interest in the tourist traps and wanted fresh, creative and really good food....FOUND IT at Sidney Willoughby Run!! It was some of the best food we have EVER eaten - fresh and expertly prepared and presented! Absolutely loved every bite! Would go back in a heartbeat! HIGHLY recommend if you want a dining experience and culinary delight! (p.s. the waiters didn't wear "period" clothes...)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EFeather61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Art in dining continues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Birthday time and where did I want to go? Sidney Willoughby Run of course! The excellence of the food and service have continued since Fall when we were last there. First of all I was delighted to find two of my favorite drinks combined - lemoncello and procecco garnished with a sprig of mint and three red raspberries.

Creamy Kohlrabi soup garnished with very thin slices of red radish and hot peppers was a most delicious way to start the meal followed by the ever delicious mac and cheese with lumps of crab meat, sea scallops on a creamy sauce and a beautiful citrus sauce around the edge and a crispy tuna tempora with miso and veggies. Of course one can't come away without one of the elegant desserts. The Rubarb Pave was sooo good and the chocolate mousse layered with crispy cookies and red raspberries although too pretty to eat, was absolutely out of this world.

The usual friendly and efficient service prevails at Sidney Willoughly Run and the outside seating is comfy with a great view of the former Country Club golf course which is now home to deer and other wildlife.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vwlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An Oasis in a Tourist Mecca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Friends and I, here for a five day visit, needed a quiet but good meal to gather our energy for a busy day to come. Sidney Willoughby Run filled the bill perfectly! The meal negan with a small "amuse" provided by the chef of three tiny crackers stacked, Napoleon style with fillings of goat cheese and spinach? The "small plates" we're delicious and enabled us all to try a variety of things. The warm toasted flatbreads with hummus and tzatsiki was delicious .. In fact it was ALL delicious. Service was fast, friendly and expert. We are still talking about it two days later!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidney Willoughby Run also viewed

 
East Berlin, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Sidney Willoughby Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing