We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holy White Hot Chocolate!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gettysburg Cupcake Cafe' - CLOSED

Gettysburg Cupcake Cafe'
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: Gettysburg Cupcake Café specializes in delicious cupcakes, along with high quality espresso and coffee drinks. We offer a lunch menu that will include gourmet Panini sandwiches and soup. We pride ourselves on providing a friendly, relaxing atmosphere to make your visit enjoyable. We are located in the heart of historic Gettysburg near the corner of Baltimore Street and Steinwehr Avenue. You can't miss our building. It is the only pink house in in the area. Come in and visit us!
York PA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Holy White Hot Chocolate!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not only are the cupcakes good, the WHITE HOT CHOCOLATE is devine! The employees were friendly and helpful. A nice place to snack and relax. Just a cute little shop.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyVacationYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    52
    26
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Conway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great sweet treats!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The treats at this particular store were wonderful. It's a recently new addition, but a wonderful one! The coffee and cupcakes were awesome. I highly recommend Death by Chocolate or Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank geoscba85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
605 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Very unexpected treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was not expecting a lot from the Gettysburg Cupcake Cafe. Cupcake places have popped up all over and most provide dry, lackluster treats. The Cupcake Cafe has very moist, rich cupckaes which are worth stopping in for. There is not a lot of space inside to eat, but when the weather is nice, there is outside seating available. If you want to satisfy that sweet tooth, stop in for a cupcake.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The cupcacakes are good but nothing special. It is pricey. They do serve coffee which is good. They are centrally located..

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank phishrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, bland cupcakes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited this bakery in June 2012 because we love to try gourmet cupcakes. Unfortunately, both the cupcakes and the service were lacking. The cupcake itself was moist and tasty but the frosting was tasteless except for a hint of Crisco. The service was slow (even though they were not busy) and I had to remind them that I ordered drinks. I had high hopes for a great local bakery but was very disappointed and have not been brave enough to give them a second try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passionatetraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gettysburgcupcakes, Owner at Gettysburg Cupcake Cafe', responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We would like to thank the reviewer for the honest feedback and would like to address some of the reviewer's concerns.

We do apologize to the reviewer for the poor service reported. We can not speak directly to the reviewer's experience but in June we were only open for a matter of days. Even though we believed we had our service procedure figured out before opening, there were definitely flaws. Over the past months we have improved our service procedure and will continue to strive for best possible customer service.

We can assure the reviewer that our icing does not contain Crisco or any other shortening. Our icing is a Swiss Merigue Buttercream. We choose this buttercream for two reasons. The lightness of the buttercream is a nice complement to the density of our cake. Also without an overwhelming sugar taste, our buttercream allows the chocolate, peanut butter, vanilla bean, and our other flavors to come through.

As you will see in our reviews, many people enjoy our buttercream and some do not. Please stop in and judge for yourself. We would be more than happy to let you sample our buttercream before your purchase.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Cupcake Cafe' also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing