We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely WONDERFUL!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of House on Baltimore St.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House on Baltimore St.
Kitchen Area Dining Room Table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Front of House on Baltimore St.
Kitchen Area
Dining Room Table
Queen Bedroom
Living Room
Tiled Shower and Tub
Bedroom with a double and twin
Queen Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Johnna Z
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely WONDERFUL!!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Old Orchard Guesthouse for a weekend in October with my daughter and 3 of her friends to celebrate her 17th birthday. The house was absolutely beautiful. It was extremely clean and periodically decorated to fit the civil war theme of Gettysburg. The full kitchen was a big plus and we were able to cook breakfasts to save a little money. We have visited Gettysburg several times but this was our first time staying there but will most definitely return. The location was great, we could walk almost everywhere. We had a wonderful time! Everything was perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy Y
Hummels Wharf, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great House”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Brafferton Inn many times but this is the first time that we stayed at the Old Orchard Guest House. This house was wonderful. We stayed with my brother and his wife and my sister and her husband. There was so much room. We loved the large kitchen. It also came with a washer and dryer. The furnishings were beautiful. It has a 2 car garage and a beautiful back yard with tables and chairs that we enjoyed on Friday night. It is very well kept up and clean. The only thing that we missed was there is no breakfast included with the house, but there are plenty of places for breakfast. We liked it so much that we booked it again for next May.
Kathy Young
Hummels Wharf, PA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Breakfast not includede
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonywolfs...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We rented out the old guess orchid house Labor Day weekend 2013. We had a blast. My friends and I enjoyed being right In the heart of town.we didn't need our cars to travel much that weekend because every thing you needed was right at a walking distance. The building was clean and the A/C work great. We had a two car garage to park our cars at night . It was very private . I recommend it highly . Enjoy ! Anthony SCP

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
67bird67
st louis
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Change of Pace”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I are history nuts and decided to try a change of pace for our visit to Gettysburg this year. We could not be more pleased with our selection. My mouth dropped open the moment we walked in...as historic as you can get and still be in the 21st century. But, what you want to know....very clean and comfortable. Has fully equipped kitchen, 1 full bath on the second floor and a powder room on the first. There are three bedrooms, one on the first floor and two on the second. Television in the living room with cable and there is high speed Wi-Fi. For a family this is a great way to spread out and be comfortable for a price no more than most of the hotels. And, if you drive, it has a two car garage. Owner meets you at the property, gives you a tour, keys and helpful stay advise. Location....right in the middle of it all, next door to the Shriver House and Museum. This place was perfect for us. My only regret...we had to leave and go back to the real world!!! They only have 5 stars available, I would give it more if I could.
Mike and Kris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and comfort
Liked least: there was nothing I could rate as
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgiann...
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 nites. Beautiful, convenient location and very comfortable to stay in. Full kitchen, Wi-fi, A/C, 2 car garage, comfy beds, clean and nicely spread out. Couple of things to think about -- no grill, tub/shower a little tricky to get in and out of if you have problems stepping over ledges, also full bath upstairs. Otherwise, we loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no grill :(
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhcody
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful home, comfy beds, walk to shops and restaurants, early american with wifi, awesome!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Great central location, two car garage with opener - no on-street parking here. Main floor bedroom was nice for those that the stairs were difficult for. Half bath on main floor and full upstairs. TV was only in main floor living room. Wifi worked well through the whole house. Kitchen and laundry room were good - bring your own soaps, coffee, etc. Private covered patio with table in backyard, the lilacs and iris' were blooming when we were there. Awesome, enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: air conditioning and comfy beds
Liked least: bed pillows were too flat for side sleepers
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LemonSpaH...
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful but......”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
5
people found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed at the Old Orchard House (new inside) which is right next door to the Shriver House Museum. The Old Orchard House actually sits on the site of the Shriver's Orchard (hence the name and you can find out more about this by taking the Shrivers House Tour-highly recommended). The house itself is beautiful on the outside and in. So much so, that we have already booked it for a future stay in December 2012 for some holiday shopping. Joan, the owner of the Brafferton Inn (a nice B & B in town) came and let us in, showed us around and literally mapped out everything that was close by-THANKFULLY because I am very directionally challenged.The house has a small front porch and the only issues that we had while staying there were that people tend to hang out on the porch because they assume that its part of the museum. We had to literally ask people to move from the front porch so we could enter the home. Joan did say they were looking to put in a small sign to let the public know that it was in fact NOT part of the museum. The other issue, was that when people would walk on the streets they would look in the home,so we pulled the curtains closed after 8pm for privacy. Everything is clean and comfortable. There is a livingroom on the first floor (I do hope that they get more furniture because there was six of us and NOT enough seating to watch a movie-there was a lot of pillows and blankets on the floor), 1/2 bathroom, bedroom and kitchen. There is also a washer and dryer on this floor. The second floor has a small office space for laptop (there is FREE WiFi), one bedroom with a twin and full bed and another bedroom with a queen bed. The bedrooms do not have any closets nor do they have any dressers? Which I think is another small issue-I would like to see somewhere to put clothes while staying. There is a large bathroom on the top floor with a generous size tub/shower. The house does provide linens and towels. We were the 2nd people to stay there and the things I talked about wouldn't stop me (obviously) from staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the home and the location.
Liked least: Not enough furniture.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing