We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgeville, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This property was a 1896 built school, converted into a hotel. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Does not offer breakfast, but is the process of opening a small pub in lower level. Nice bathroom, very comfortable bed and good quality linens. Gettysburg is a small town and you only minutes from any of the attractions. Would stay there if when we go back. A good value too..

Room Tip: There are several rooms on the lower level and I would think they maybe on the dark side. Would req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    87
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
90
205
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaverdam, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms are spacious with 10 ft ceilings. Walking distance to downtown and many places to eat. Can even walk to the battlefield. Will come back again! Fresh scones were a plus. It's an old school with lots of charm. Room had northern and southern prints for balance.:).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We ended up here after looking around tripadvisor, and are glad we did! This renovated schoolhouse is now a very nice hotel. The rooms are huge (at least our 3rd floor, king bed, room was). The bed was very comfortable. The staff very nice and friendly. It is about a half mile walk to the center/rotary, so very easy for us to roam around. There is a grocery store a block away if you want to get some snacks to keep in the room mini frig. The only negative thing I say is that it is on a fairly busy road, and near enough to the train, so you hear traffic all night and an occasional train. I've learned to travel with earplugs - so it didn't bother me

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor, king bed, Jacuzzi room. It was huge, and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank framgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister and I recently stayed in room 205 of the Federal Pointe Inn for five nights and found it very roomy and comfortable. We especially liked discovering the history of the place. It is a former high school built in 1896 that continued to serve as a school until 1992. The building was converted to an inn during 2012 and opened that July. Our sitting room was once the main lobby for the school which still has the original front doors! The beds are extremely comfortable and the bathroom with marble shower was another nice feature. We enjoyed the inn's location because it is only about two blocks from the diamond and steps away from Lee's Headquarters and the Lutheran Seminary. I would advise anyone who stays here to explore the lower level where the fitness room is located. There you will find many historic photo's of the school and some of its students from years past.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesport, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Recently spent one night at the Federal Pointe Inn. There is absolutely nothing to complain about this Inn. The Inn is conveniently located in Gettysburg which was beautifully restored 2 years ago from a schoolhouse. Our room was spacious, immaculate, beautiful furnishings, with comfortable bed and very nice bedding and refridgerator in room. Staff was very friendly and helpful and accomodating as we had a special request which they gladly met our request. I would strongly recommend this very comfortable inn if you are visiting Gettysburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The nights were getting cool and the A/C was still on. They weren't ready for the cold yet, just us.
We stayed here because we never stayed at a Ascend property and wanted to check it out. I won't pay extra to stay but the price was right to try it. So we are not sorry we tried it but I probably won't stay again.

Room Tip: No pool or hot tube....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I agree with all of the previous reviews. Great rooms, great location and great staff. The building is amazing and the high ceilings and beautiful bathrooms make this a unique experience. Vicky was very helpful in telling us what to see and how to get there. I highly recommend this hotel. (Only thing I would warn people is that there is no elevator to upper floor).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Klink1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,044 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 75 Springs Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing