We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good. With a sense of the Gettysburg flavour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex U.K.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good. With a sense of the Gettysburg flavour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A little way out of town, about 10 minutes walk to the centre, but this means plenty of easy parking. But, as we later learnt, close to some of the battle's first day action.
A big old building that looks as though it's being constantly improved. We saw notices regarding a bar and food licence being applied for.
Big room with high ceiling, as did all the hotel, and a nice Gettysburg "feel" with paintings, books, memorabilia about the place. Adds to the experience as I guess the battle is why most people are in town.
Well appointed, clean room with comfortable bed, plenty of room and a good shower.
Nicely kept gardens.
Welcome, by Vicky and a young lad, was very warm and nothing too much trouble.
Not having a bar or restaurant we only saw reception staff, but all were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ustraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    72
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
77
171
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I visit Gettysburg every year and were looking to stay some place new.Well we were not disappointed with our stay.The old school house has many beautiful pictures and original décor.The rooms were a nice surprise with the granite in the bathroom.We can not wait till our next visit.This is a place that you will never forget.

Room Tip: We had no problems with noise or sun,our room was perfect.We stayed in a king suite room,it had a Ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purplegirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had to cancel my reservation at Federal Pointe Inn - unexpectedly; and did it after the 4 pm cancel deadline (day before). The owner, Sandy, graciously waived my one night late cancellation fee. Customer service like that is appreciated - and not always seen in the hotel industry. I will definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebesbeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We and another couple stayed at the Federal Pointe for two nights in August. It is a nice and new boutique hotel offering spacious rooms, high ceilings, Keurig coffee machines, mini fridge, free bottled water and a bathroom with granite shower stall with very good shower spray and granite sink countertops with good quality toiletries. Free parking and wi-fi as well. We stayed in Room 204 and the only setbacks were that there wasn't a desk that my husband could set up his laptop to do work at, there wasn't enough lighting, no safe and not much counter space in the bathroom to set out our toiletry bags etc. The hotel had been a school previously and has been lovingly restored and it shows throughout. The owners did a wonderful job and it is clear that it was a labour of love. Civil war paintings by Dale Gallon are hung throughout. Although the hotel was fully booked when we were there, we did not get distracted with any kind of noise. It's location is also convenient - a short walk to the Seminary one way and a short walk to the town circle the other way - no more than 5 minutes. No food service is available at the hotel at the moment but there's lots to choose from once you're towards the town circle. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaVirginiaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Enjoyed two nights at this new and unique hotel. The 18 room hotel is in an old school. The rooms are very large with modern, granite showers. The location is 3 blocks off the main square,within walking distance. The side of the square where the hotel is located is much quieter than some of the other areas, but there are fewer shops and restaurants nearby. There is easy parking behind the hotel. Each room has free wireless and it's own Keurig machine. A good location for a visit to the battlefields.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jahardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Very good location at one end of the business district so restaurants & shops all walkable.
The restoration of this historic building was well done and recent (has only been a hotel for 13 months, the evening desk clerk informed us, having previously been a school since the 1800s.)
Beautiful shower, high ceilings, Keurig in the room for coffee, as other reviewers mention. Desk clerk showing us to the room was a nice touch. A couple of little things missing to make it perfect like towel bars by the sink and outlets to charge my phone on the nightstand-not biggies, but the little things needed to move from 4 to 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlevien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our family stayed here for 4 nights in late August. The room was beautiful very spacious. Also our room had an extra sitting room which was perfect for reading or watching TV. The old school is nicely restored and the walls in both the rooms and hallways have prints of paintings depicting the battle of Gettysburg and the Civil War. We found the Federal Pointe to be an excellent place to stay while in Gettysburg only about a short 3 minute walk into Lincoln Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 75 Springs Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing