We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Federale Pointe Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Federale Pointe Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great place to stay with easy access to centre, large car park, excellent diner across car park for breakfast. This was a school- an elegant building reminscent of a civic building. Immaculate rooms with large beds. Very good value. Spent two nights here while visiting the battlefield. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    77
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
79
184
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We checked into the Federal Pointe Inn on a Saturday and stayed one night. The room was spacious and exceedingly clean. The bed was comfortable and while our room was on the second floor, we didn't notice a lot of noise, though I run a white noise app when we travel to avoid hearing noises like people moving around in halls and cars outside. The location of the Inn puts you just a short walk into town which is nice. The Inn has little things that make this place special such as in-room Keurig machines, in-room mini fridge with freezer, scones set out for guests in the afternoon and art throughout the corridors that is gorgeous. We both travel a lot for work and fun, and I rarely come across a place that is unique enough to make me want to get online as soon as possible to sing its praises. This place is special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sommersonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed in room 207 last night. The property is beautiful. Linda toured us upstairs and the basement, which has two fireplaces just recently discovered. I really like this place; especially our room.

If we stayed here again, we would definately request a third floor room due to the noise. When the guests just above room 207 use the bathroom, a "major swish noise" shoots straight down through the wall at the headboard of the bed. This was a very loud noise and went on throughout the night. When this was renovated, soundproofing should have been wrapped around the down drain pipes. Also, no coffee in the hallway; only green tea bags both days. I thought that was odd to have a Keurig coffeemaker and no coffee. Otherwise, this place is definately a place to stay. The bugs will be worked out in time, I'm sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room for a more quiet experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcjw700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at the Federal Pointe Inn for our anniversary. The Inn was lovely and charming! Our room was very comfortable and beautifully appointed. We enjoyed the Keurig coffee and tea in our room and in the hallway lounge. The lounge area was a wonderful place to relax and peruse books for guests and to admire the authentic Civil War paintings. All of the staff at the Inn were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast at the cozy restaurant just behind the Inn. The historic district of Gettysburg with quaint shops and restaurants is just a short walk away. There are so many things to do in and around Gettysburg and the Federal Pointe is ideally and conveniently located. We look forward to our return visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a unique experience in fabulous environment! My husband and I stayed at the Inn for three nights in October of this year. The Inn has only been open for three months so there were a couple of very minor issues that I am sure will resolved very soon. There are just 18 rooms in the Inn so it never has a feeling of a hotel. Our room was a very large corner room with a comfortable king bed. It was beautifully and appropriately decorated. The bathroom had both a tub and a shower and was quite large and well appointed with luxury soaps, shampoos etc. There was a small refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. If I remember correctly, there was coffee but no tea. We drink tea and since lots of places that have coffee makers have coffee but no tea, we carry our own so it is never an issue with us. There is no food service at the Inn but there is a handy cafe just across the parking lot and lots of places to eat in the town of Gettysburg and its surrounding areas. The couple of little things I brought to the attention of the receptionist were: 1) the large lovely desk in the corner of the room had a large lamp on it but there was no electrical outlet within reach of the desk so that corner did not have enough light to make the desk useful. 2) the room had only one outlet that was available for charging electronics unless you unplugged the coffee maker which gives a second outlet. We carry a power strip so we could make this work but I suggested that with everyone carrying cell phones, computers or ipads, cameras etc., it would be good to address this issue in the rooms. 3) we had no luggage racks the first night and only one the second and third nights. As most rooms are filled with two or more visitors I suggested that have two luggage rack per room would be reasonable. We were very careful covering the desk with towels on the desk for one suitcase but I would have been more comfortable with luggage racks. As I said these issues were very minor but I would hope that the Inn would address these as it would enhance visitors' stays. The staff was very helpful in assisting us with reservations and how, where and what to do and see. Our visit was mid October and if you plan to be in Gettysburg on a weekend in the fall you must make restaurant reservations at least a couple of days before arriving. Everything was booked when we arrived but Colleen did get us in Dobbin House the second night and it was wonderful. Staying in the school, now the Inn, was a special experience. The owner has contracted with an archivist and is going to be doing more to bring the school's history into the experience of staying in the Inn. That said, there are a few pictures in the downstairs common area of classes from way back that are not to be missed. I also want to point out that there are some issues regarding accessibility. Parking is close to the entrance and easy. There is a nice ramp up to the front door but there is no elevator so if stairs are an issue be sure to book on the first floor. Also the stairs to the second floor are more than the average number of steps and the ceilings on the first floor are very high. You pretty much have to do your own luggage so if that is an issue just be sure you are on the first floor. We managed the second floor just fine but I am writing this so if this is an issue for you, you can plan for it. We enjoyed our stay at the Inn and think that staying there added a wonderful plus to our fabulous experience in Gettysburg. If going to Gettysburg definitely plan a stay at the Federal Pointe Inn.

Room Tip: The upstairs corner rooms are lovely and well worth the little extra to stay in one of there rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the minute we arrived everything was great. Very close parking, a great greeting, very friendly staff and a great location. Loved our room - very nicely done with lots of room to move around. Rooms have a small bar area, mini fridge, Keurig coffee maker and a selection of coffees and teas. Wonderful paintings throughout the Inn. The bed was super comfortable and we slept very well. Walking distance to downtown Gettysburg and plenty of good restaurants. Highly recommend the Federal Pointe inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX USA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Vickie at front desk did super job greeting us and making dinner reservations. Rooms and bathrooms very nicely done, parking close to entry. Easy walk to Lincoln Sq shopping and eating. Inn very quiet. Couple things missing in this excellent new inn: folding cradle for luggage and night stand both sides of the comfortable bed would be nice addition. Inn is located less than a mile from battlefield. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXDavid937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 75 Springs Ave, Gettysburg, PA 17325-1725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing