We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food - decent cupcakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wells Family Baking Company - CLOSED

Wells Family Baking Company
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing food - decent cupcakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My mom, aunt, sister, and I visited this establishment for lunch on Saturday. Three of us got the caprese salad and one got a turkey Panini. We all loved our meals! The tomatoes for the salad were delicious and local. Everything in our meals was fresh. The presentation of our lunch was impressive for a small restaurant. I would definitely visit this restaurant for another meal! I split a Smores cupcake with my sister for dessert. The bottom had graham crackers which were a little dry, but the center had a delicious chocolate truffle. It was good, but I had a better cupcake while I was in Gettysburg.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lnh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK -- not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The cheesecake was good, not great. The coconut macaroons were so dry, they were hardly edible. The staff was very friendly and nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice friendly employee.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

After seeing news story about it we searched and found the shop. there was very little to choice from even though it was around 5 pm. the employee was very friendly but she gave us a bad call on where to go for dinner... the place she sent us to- blue and grey bar stunk! the cupcake was good as was the cheesecake.. price was ok. atmosphere was poor and run down

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maiden NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good service Good Cupcakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The staff was friendly the cupcakes were good..they were fairly fresh a little sweet for me but the rest of my family enjoyed

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AprilCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

From a local's perspective (and past DC resident), the ingredients are excellent (no hydrogenated fats) and taste is very good. I'd give the bread, however, a 2.5 rating. Cake, cup cake, cookies, etc. are great. The cheesecake is phenomenal. I look forward to trying their new lunch menu.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Family Baking Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing