We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place”
Review of Wells Family Baking Company - CLOSED

Wells Family Baking Company
Cuisines: Cafe
Good for: Special occasions
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love this Place”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've been a regular customer at Wells since they opened, but have never written a review. I write reviews when I travel, but never seem to think to write local reviews. This is a great place. I've never had a bad experience at Wells. I've stopped in for coffee (it's great) and a muffin or cupcake; purchased numerous cakes at the last minute becaue I fail to plan ahead (Limoncello, and all sorts of chocolate varieties); and special orders for the holidays (the Yule Log, Christmas cookies). My most recent experience was..on my birthday a friend gave me a creme brulee from Wells. It was amazing. I've been on a low carb diet for three weeks and I dream every night that I'm eating that creme brulee!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GettysburgSAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stopped by for a sweet after lunch and purchased 3 cookies and a cupcake. The cookies were so-so and the Tiramisu cupcake was terrible. I had to throw it away. I was so dissapointed! :-(

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sewcraz4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best in the 'Burg”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I don't live in Gettysburg but visit often, and when I do, Wells Family Baking is always one of the stops. I've had the good fortune of sampling their Bavarian White and Dark Chocolate cake, Limoncello cake, Black Forest cake, Shortbread cookies, and a variety of quiches(HIGHLY recommended!). All of them have been of superior quality and flavor, and I suggest that anyone in the area stop in for a bite.
On top of that, the inside is open and inviting, with ample seating to enjoy a cup of coffee and pastry while taking in Gettysburg's many charms.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxilator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herkimer, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Bakery Ever!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I live in Gettysburg and I don't know who these people are who have given a bad review to this bakery (probably the competition) but Delisa makes some of the best cakes I have ever had. I will track down any bakery when I travel as I love pastries, cookies, cupcakes, breads, etc. Wells Bakery is fantastic and I have eaten just about everything Delisa makes from cakes to quiche (awesome!), pastries and her cookies. My co-workers and I have treats from Wells Bakery every single weekend. It is awesome. I have tasted cupcakes, doughnuts and cookies from the other shops and they are not even in the same league. Keep up the good work, Delisa. We love your bakery!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank par927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biglerville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pastries are delicious but way over priced.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stopped by at Christmas time to buy pastries. the pastries - all homemade I was told were very tasty but way, way overpriced. I did not return due to the cost of the items. I felt I could get even or better quality elsewhere for less money.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank echambers140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Family Baking Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing