We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B&B at Gettysburg”
Review of Inn at Herr Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Herr Ridge
Ranked #3 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B at Gettysburg”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This B&B is right at the edge of the battlefield and is in a historic inn that served as a hospital during the Civil War. The rooms are comfortable and the newer ones are quite large. They all have gas fireplaces. There are lots of stairs , so this would be a problem for anyone who had mobility issues. The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our two night stay there very much.
The hotel is right directly on a road and some rooms can be noisy.

Room Tip: Try to be away from the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Townhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at The Inn and took the time to tell others. We are glad also, that you found your room to be spacious and comfortable. Please know that we do have a room with a ground level entrance if steps are a problem. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    81
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
53
340
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed one night in room 2 for a birthday celebration. The building is beautifully restored. Our room was very large and full of antiques and charm. There were lots of extras that made our stay special, like the champagne and fruit and cheese in our room when we arrived. The staff was very pleasant and professional. They gave us a tour of the common areas when we arrived to orient us to the facility.

Snacks and beverages were available 24 hours a day. A K-cup coffee maker was in the room as well. We chose to eat dinner in the Sharpshooters restaurant which is located adjacent to the main building. We had a wonderful meal with great service. Breakfast is different every day. We had peach pancakes with honey butter and a side of bacon. This included a small buffet with pastries, fruit and muffins. I was more interested in some scrambled eggs and toast and they willingly accommodated my request.

The inn was within walking distance of the battlefield and driving or bicycling distance from the Gettysburg Battlefield Visitors Center.

This inn is rumored to be haunted. I didn't go there looking for contact with ghosts, but I have to admit that there was a strange blue light hovering over the lace canopy in the middle of the night. I read the visit log that is kept in the room and I was not the first person to report seeing this in room 2.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Check out the Herr Inn website for pictures of the rooms to help you decide which room to book. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjorieSPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay here at The Inn. We are glad you found room 2 to be to your liking and enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer. Hope you didn't mind the paranormal activity that came with your room! Thank you also, for complimenting our staff. They work very hard to make sure each guests' stay is a memorable one. Pleas come and be our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We so enjoyed our dinner here! We had actually received a recommendation for somewhere else to dine, but there was a long wait so we ended up here and we felt we couldn't have done better. We had the steak for two dinner and it was delicious. There was more than we could eat so we ended up taking it back to the room, storing it in the refrigerator and having steak sandwiches another day. The staff were special and welcoming without smothering you and the decor was very nice too. Altogether, although more costly than we usually spent on this trip, well worthwhile and we will have warm memories of this meal.

Room Tip: We did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Although we would have loved to be your first choice for dinner...we are so pleased you ended up here at the Inn! Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your dining experience and for mentioning our staff. We are glad you enjoyed the "steak for two" dinner and hope you will come and be our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Certainly a hidden treasure. My husband and I stayed one night in Room 9 (suite). The room has a lot of character and very clean. We had cocktails and dinner at the Inn and everything was perfect. The food, drinks, service and staff was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We looked at several rooms and liked them all but we chose room 9 because it was unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at The Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in room 9; as you said, that room does have a lot of "character"! Glad also, you had dinner with us and could sample the cuisine for which we are so proud. Please come and be our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Township, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a get-away weekend. The Inn was very clean, comfortable, and welcoming. The breakfasts were delicious, as was the dinner in the tavern the evening we arrived. The staff was polite and professional, and none of the little touches one would expect from a Select Inn were missing - sparkling wine at arrival, fruit plate in the room, snacks in the afternoon, and cookies at checkout. Highly recommended - we will return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you chose The Inn for your "get-away weekend". Thanks, too, for noticing all the "little touches" we provide for our guests. Our entire staff works diligently to make sure each guest has a memorable experience. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed one night in Room 1, part of the original inn building that dates to the early 19th century. The room was spacious, clean, and well equipped. We received champagne, fruit, and cheese upon check-in, as well as friendly attention from the staff. Fortunately, we had no encounter with the paranormal beings who are sometimes said to haunt the old part of the inn (a confederate hospital during the Gettysburg battle). I'd rate the room higher except that I am not a fan of country chintz decor and that well describes the character of the room. I also generally don't like poofy beds and there could have been a little stronger light for reading. Those are quibbles, though, and overall the B&B experience was positive. I also rate the food just short of five stars. We ate dinner at the Inn (not the more casual Sharpshooters) and found that the chef's grasp almost met his ambitious reach. The locally sourced salads and entrees were inventive and tasty. The featured wines by-the-glass were both excellent choices. My only criticisms were that a pork dish was medium rare instead of medium well, and the service was a little too leisurely. Breakfast the next morning was generous and well-prepared.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank temeraire53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at
The Inn. We are glad you also had dinner with us and welcome your constructive criticism concerning your pork dish. We're always looking for ways to make our guests' experience a pleasant one. Please come and be our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is one of the best Inns in Gettysburg. Driving up to the Inn along the same road that the Confederate soldiers traveled and staying in the first Confederate field hospital is thrilling for Gettysburg visitors interested in history. After being greeted with a glass of sparkling wine and shown about the Inn, we were introduced to the staff that was on hand giving us the feeling of belonging - not just a guest. The staff was warm and pleasent all through our 9 night stay. We enjoyed using the Inn as our base of "operations" for biking, hiking, and just relaxing. We were greeted each time we entered the Inn in the same warm and friendly manner.

We dined several times in the tavern and in the restrurant. The menu is the same in both places but the atmosphere is more relaxed in the tavern. Regardless of where you ate, the chef came out to greet you and ask about how your meal was and if anything could be improved. Each morning the breakfast was beautifully prepared by one of the two master chefs. Every day was a different hot entree and simply delicious.

I highly recommend the Inn to anyone coming to Gettysburg and looking for a quiet get-a-way in an area steeped in history. If you are looking for something a little more lively, Sharpshooters Bar and Grill is in a separate building on the grounds and has entertainment most nights.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in rooms in the original portion of the Inn and have found them to be spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It really was our pleasure to host you for the nine days you were visiting Gettysburg. How gracious of you to mention all of our staff in your review. We enjoyed talking with you and hearing about what you did each day! Please come and be our guests again soon. We hope you consider us "your home away from home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,508 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,045 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Herr Ridge

Property: Inn at Herr Ridge
Address: 900 Chambersburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Herr Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting atmosphere of the Inn at Herr Ridge is unforgettable. Built in 1815 and nestled between the historic battlefields of Gettysburg and one of Pennsylvania's wooded treasures, Caledonia State Park, the Inn offers a rare experience to every guest who crosses the threshold, and is only minutes from town. Tastefully decorated, charmingly unique rooms await. Enjoy an evening in your room by the fireplace, or step into your private Jacuzzi bath. Hungry? Experience the alluring setting of our private dining room. And don't forget the wine. We offer an extensive wine spectator award winning wine list. Many of which are stored in our exquisite, windowed wine cellar. Our full-service bar also offers premium spirits. The main house of the Inn, became the first Confederate hospital during the battle of Gettysburg. It is beautifully restored and listed in the National Register of Historic Places. If you are searching for a relaxing and romantic getaway, look no further. The fireplace is glowing, and the wine is chilled. Come visit us! We now have a Tesla Charging Station for our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Herr Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Herr Ridge Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing