We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply THE BEST”
Review of Inn at Herr Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Herr Ridge
Ranked #6 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I just finished a two night getaway at The Inn at Herr Ridge. This was our second visit. We stayed in the Annex this time for a different experience. Our expectations for high end B&B's are quite high, and again Herr Ridge has exceeded them! The staff treats you like royalty from the moment you arrive. Every area we have experienced has been immaculate and beautifully appointed. Everything you could possibly wish for is on site, from gourmet dining, to casual dining, to two cocktail lounges (one a sports lounge). We dined in the Inn the first evening and enjoyed Chef Kyle's tasting menu (with the wine pairings). We were blown away! This guy is a superstar! If you're heading to Gettysburg just book this place. You can't do any better.

Room Tip: Stay in the main inn if its your first visit (for the experience)... But if you really want privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckyandtip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your most complimentary review. We are so glad you took advantage of our summer getaway package. Thank you also for mentioning our staff. They take great pride in their jobs and work diligently to make each guests' stay a memorable one. Please come and be our guests again soon; Chef Kyle is always changing the menu to take advantage of what is "in season"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 465 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Here at the start of my 2013 holiday, the Inn has been a place to stay for the last 15 years on the way to NC. Service is gracious and friendly as one should expect in a boutique inn. The restaurant is WORLD CLASS. Had a delightful braised pork belt to start with, a wonderful gazpacho made with local vintage tomatos, a tomato salad with a local burrata and a barramundi in a coriander crust. I washed this down with a lovely 2005 Prager Gruner Veltliner from Austria. Blissful meal.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank stevesottl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. It has been our pleasure to host you and your family for the last 15 years. We are so glad you were able to enjoy a wonderful meal and wine while you were here. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great place to Stay, alot of history in the area and the Inn itself. Right in the middle of the battlefield. Staff was very friendly. Bed was a little too soft, Like a it had 6 inches of cotton balls on the top, but I understand its hard to please everyone in that arena b/c everyone has different preferences

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at The Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. They work very hard to ensure each guest has a wonderful experience. We are sorry you found your bed to be too soft. Please, next time you visit be sure and say something and we will try to find a mattress more to your liking. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here for the 4th of July. From Check-in to Check-out our experience was wonderful! The Inn is stunning and full of Character. We cant wait to go back and will absolutely stay at The Inn at Herr Ridge again. The staff rooms and dining are fabulous!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We are so pleased you chose The Inn to celebrate the 4th of July. And thank you also for mentioning our staff. They strive every day to make our guests' stay memorable. We can't wait for you to come back too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in the old (original) part of the Inn. My son wanted to stay there because it is reportedly "haunted". The staff was great. Very helpful. The restaurant was good, too. Nice wine selection. Good breakfast. We loved the room ... decorated to period, of course. Had fun trying to scare our son in our "haunted room"!! Nice location. Close to the battlefields. Not too far from attractions in town. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eggo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

So glad you were able to stay in the original part of the Inn where paranormal activity is known to take place. Thank you also, for complimenting our staff. They all work very hard to provide our guests with the best service possible. Please come back and be our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night to spend the next day at the battlefield. My room was spacious, bed was comfortable, and breakfast was outstanding: healthy yet delicious. I would highly recommend it. The location is a little way down the road from the main downtown area which can be both good and bad. It is a plus to have a full restaurant on site.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudie0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We are so glad you deemed us "the best B&B experience"...high praise indeed! I will pass on your compliments concerning breakfast to our chef. We look forward to seeing you, if you are ever in Gettysburg again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading everyone's glowing recommendations on here I really tried to manage my expectations. I was afraid it wouldn't be as classy as everyone said, or that I was being unrealistic. You guys, this place is AMAZING. We were greeted, like many of the others on here, with glasses of champagne. Then, once we were brought to our room, (personally, by the lovely woman who checked us in) there was chilled champagne and a plate of fruits and cheese for us. That alone would have been enough, but the rooms were private like a hotel, with what I would consider above-average accomodations (we were in Room 15 with a jet tub and a queen-sized bed). The staff was so gracious and sweet. We ate at their fancy restaurant in the hotel, (rather than Sharpshooters, the bar next door owned by the same folks) and the food was divine. It was a bit expensive, but it was what you expect for a fancy dinner. They have a commendable wine selection, thousands of choices to go with your meal. After sleeping incredibly well in the plush bed, we woke up to leave the next day and had another excellent meal, the breakfast was courtesy of the inn and really really good. When we checked out, we were given two freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies to take with us on the road. I mean wow, just wow. From the moment you step into the inn they take care of you with such a personal touch, you feel like you should hug them when you leave. Next time I go to Gettysburg I will make sure that I can get a reservation there, because it was a little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreaforcum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your glowing review concerning your experience at The Inn. We are so pleased that every aspect of your stay with us was superb! Please come and be our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,091 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
246 reviews
2.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,574 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Herr Ridge

Address: 900 Chambersburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $186 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Herr Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting atmosphere of the Inn at Herr Ridge is unforgettable. Built in 1815 and nestled between the historic battlefields of Gettysburg and one of Pennsylvania's wooded treasures, Caledonia State Park, the Inn offers a rare experience to every guest who crosses the threshold, and is only minutes from town. Tastefully decorated, charmingly unique rooms await. Enjoy an evening in your room by the fireplace, or step into your private Jacuzzi bath. Hungry? Experience the alluring setting of our private dining room. And don't forget the wine. We offer an extensive wine spectator award winning wine list. Many of which are stored in our exquisite, windowed wine cellar. Our full-service bar also offers premium spirits. The main house of the Inn, became the first Confederate hospital during the battle of Gettysburg. It is beautifully restored and listed in the National Register of Historic Places. If you are searching for a relaxing and romantic getaway, look no further. The fireplace is glowing, and the wine is chilled. Come visit us! We now have a Tesla Charging Station for our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Herr Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Herr Ridge Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing