We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Herr Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Herr Ridge
Ranked #4 of 25 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hope Mills, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here for the 4th of July. From Check-in to Check-out our experience was wonderful! The Inn is stunning and full of Character. We cant wait to go back and will absolutely stay at The Inn at Herr Ridge again. The staff rooms and dining are fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so pleased you chose The Inn to celebrate the 4th of July. And thank you also for mentioning our staff. They strive every day to make our guests' stay memorable. We can't wait for you to come back too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    57
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
37
260
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in the old (original) part of the Inn. My son wanted to stay there because it is reportedly "haunted". The staff was great. Very helpful. The restaurant was good, too. Nice wine selection. Good breakfast. We loved the room ... decorated to period, of course. Had fun trying to scare our son in our "haunted room"!! Nice location. Close to the battlefields. Not too far from attractions in town. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
So glad you were able to stay in the original part of the Inn where paranormal activity is known to take place. Thank you also, for complimenting our staff. They all work very hard to provide our guests with the best service possible. Please come back and be our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night to spend the next day at the battlefield. My room was spacious, bed was comfortable, and breakfast was outstanding: healthy yet delicious. I would highly recommend it. The location is a little way down the road from the main downtown area which can be both good and bad. It is a plus to have a full restaurant on site.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudie0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so glad you deemed us "the best B&B experience"...high praise indeed! I will pass on your compliments concerning breakfast to our chef. We look forward to seeing you, if you are ever in Gettysburg again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading everyone's glowing recommendations on here I really tried to manage my expectations. I was afraid it wouldn't be as classy as everyone said, or that I was being unrealistic. You guys, this place is AMAZING. We were greeted, like many of the others on here, with glasses of champagne. Then, once we were brought to our room, (personally, by the lovely woman who checked us in) there was chilled champagne and a plate of fruits and cheese for us. That alone would have been enough, but the rooms were private like a hotel, with what I would consider above-average accomodations (we were in Room 15 with a jet tub and a queen-sized bed). The staff was so gracious and sweet. We ate at their fancy restaurant in the hotel, (rather than Sharpshooters, the bar next door owned by the same folks) and the food was divine. It was a bit expensive, but it was what you expect for a fancy dinner. They have a commendable wine selection, thousands of choices to go with your meal. After sleeping incredibly well in the plush bed, we woke up to leave the next day and had another excellent meal, the breakfast was courtesy of the inn and really really good. When we checked out, we were given two freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies to take with us on the road. I mean wow, just wow. From the moment you step into the inn they take care of you with such a personal touch, you feel like you should hug them when you leave. Next time I go to Gettysburg I will make sure that I can get a reservation there, because it was a little slice of paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreaforcum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your glowing review concerning your experience at The Inn. We are so pleased that every aspect of your stay with us was superb! Please come and be our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER MICH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great room called the lodge.it was huge and they provided so many extras...champagne, cheese, fruit plate on arrival.Gourmet breakfast.Efficient and friendly staff.Close to battlefields and town.Loved the ribs in the onsite casual restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUDYYRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your very succinct review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here at The Inn. Thank you, also, for complimenting our staff. They work diligently to provide our guests with exceptional service. Glad you enjoyed Sharpshooters Bar and Grille too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I planned a weekend away for my boyfriend for his birthday and chose Gettysburg as our gettaway. The Inn at Herr Ridge was just the place for a wonderful weekend away! In the heart of Gettysburg, we were able to do all the touristy things as well as get local advice from the staff at the Inn. The Inn itself was absolutely beautiful and the service was the best I have ever had. The room we stayed in was nicely decorated and we enjoyed using the fireplace. It was wonderful that the Inn provided a bottle of choice wine upon request as well as a cheese platter. Both were in the room when we arrived and were a great surprise for my boyfriend. When we needed a bottle opener in the middle of the night, the staff personally walked it to our room to deliver it. The staff at the Inn was sensational - they were considerate, on top of it, and very responsive. Absolutely great time at a beautiful, wonderful inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you, thank you for your kind words! We are so glad we were able to make your boyfriend's "birthday getaway" a wonderful experience. Glad also, you liked your room with the fireplace and enjoyed the wine and cheese. Thank you for mentioning our staff. They all work very hard to make everyone's stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Herr Ridge for 2 nights on the Memorial Day weekend. We where greeted very pleasantly upon arrival, even being offered a glass of champagne. After being shown our very spacious room (#9) we unpacked and relaxed till dinner. The room was very clean and in great repair! At dinner time we simply walked downstairs and had an absolutely wonderful meal with a great bottle of wine from there extensive cellar. Breakfast the next morning was very good also . The pleasant surprise was when we returned to our room after breakfast it had already been made up wow what great service! The only small criticism is that more than 1 hot entree for breakfast could be offered. We enjoyed dinner so much we dined there our second night which is a rarity for us when traveling. We will stay at Herr Ridge every time we visit Gettysburg!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonya and Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at The Inn. It is nice that after you finish dinner, all you have to do is walk upstairs to your room. Thank you for your suggestion about breakfast. I will pass that on to our chef. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests' experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Brafferton Inn
Brafferton Inn
#5 of 25 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Herr Ridge

Property: Inn at Herr Ridge
Address: 900 Chambersburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Herr Ridge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting atmosphere of the Inn at Herr Ridge is unforgettable. Built in 1815 and nestled between the historic battlefields of Gettysburg and one of Pennsylvania's wooded treasures, Caledonia State Park, the Inn offers a rare experience to every guest who crosses the threshold, and is only minutes from town. Tastefully decorated, charmingly unique rooms await. Enjoy an evening in your room by the fireplace, or step into your private Jacuzzi bath. Hungry? Experience the alluring setting of our private dining room. And don't forget the wine. We offer an extensive wine spectator award winning wine list. Many of which are stored in our exquisite, windowed wine cellar. Our full-service bar also offers premium spirits. The main house of the Inn, became the first Confederate hospital during the battle of Gettysburg. It is beautifully restored and listed in the National Register of Historic Places. If you are searching for a relaxing and romantic getaway, look no further. The fireplace is glowing, and the wine is chilled. Come visit us! We now have a Tesla Charging Station for our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Herr Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Herr Ridge Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing