We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”
Review of Inn at Herr Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Herr Ridge
Ranked #6 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I spent a night for our 35th wedding anniversary in room 18. It was the most relaxing place we have ever stayed. They allowed us an early check in before our massages and the masseuse Shirley was wonderful! We then enjoyed a delicious dinner in the dining room followed by a relaxing bath in the whirlpool tub! The amenities we received with our package were exquisite - chilled champagne in our room, chocolate covered strawberries, aromatherapy package and beautiful rose petals! Our room had a fireplace and private deck! The breakfast which was included was delicious especially the blueberry muffins and eggs benedict. Would highly recommend especially if you are tired of the chain atmosphere. Staff were so friendly and helpful! The Inn and Tavern have such charm!

Room Tip: Rooms 14-18 are in the annex so if you want to stay in the original inn and tavern choose 1-11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

First let me say congratulations on your anniversary! We are always thrilled when people choose The Inn at Herr Ridge to celebrate special occasions in their lives. We are also glad you took advantage of our very popular "Romance Package". I will let Shirley know how much you enjoyed your massages and tell the staff you complimented them also. We would love it if you would come back and celebrate your 36th anniversary with us next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 465 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I recently spent one night in Room 11, a large room, beautifully appointed and featuring a king-sized, very comfortable bed. While we didn't have time to use it, the large bathroom had a whirlpool tub.
We arrived in a torrential rainstorm, so the very warm greeting at reception and the coziness of that space was just great. We opted to go straight to our room where we found champagne and a cheese &fruit plate waiting. We turned on the room's fireplace and relaxed.
After a quiet night, we enjoyed a very tasty breakfast complete with eggs Benedict and warm blueberry and cinnamon rolls.
After touring the battlefield, this inn was the perfect ending to our time in Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the original inn; it adds to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felice243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at The Inn. We are so glad you liked room 11 (my personal favorite) and had a chance to enjoy the cozy fireplace. Please come and be our guests again soon...we will hope for better weather next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have been thinking several days of what to say about this Inn. There is only one thing to say " what a remarkable place to stay ". Service was excellent, pure "class', first rate.. It is a clean very well kept place with a lot of history. To the management, you must pay your employees well, because they sure make you look good.

Room Tip: Room # 9. Unique décor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Wow, what a nice review! On behalf of everyone here at The Inn, we say thank you and hope you will be our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were given a two-night stay at Herr Ridge by our children for Christmas. First, the room was extremely clean! Our room was comfortable, but we had a queen-sized bed which we are not used to. Apparently, there are only a few rooms with king-sized beds. The bed had a feather topper on the mattress which was all bunched up in the middle creating a hump in the "small" bed. We had to take it off! The television (12 inch) was in a cabinet about 10 feet from the bed ~~ way too small and far away! Also, the selection of channels was not very good. There was no internet in our room!

Everyone at Herr Ridge was SUPER nice and extremely helpful. The service could not have been better.

We had two breakfasts there and both hot entrees were delicious. Also, there was a very nice variety of continental selections. Dinner there was phenomenal! My husband and I shared two entrees ~~ filet mignon and shrimp and scallops with risotto. Both were excellent!

Overall, I would recommend the Inn at Herr Ridge to everyone!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your visit here at The Inn. I am sorry you found your bed to be uncomfortable. Please, next time let us know and we will try to find another bed that would be more to your liking. So glad you enjoyed breakfast and dinner, and we hope you will return and be our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of stying at this fine bed and breakfast.. They met us with champagne at the door.. The staff,, daniele, andrew , and chef cody,could not have been nicer to us.. The rooms were large and clean . We had such a nice time we would go back time and time again,, thanks for a great time,, andrea and paul dorr , and john

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyad46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review about your stay here at The Inn. All of our staff try really hard to make your visit with us the best it can be. On behalf of Andrew, Danielle and Chef Cody, I invite you to come and be our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The inn was clean, comfortable, and furnished exquisitely in antiques that matched the historical period of the battle of Gettysburg. The staff was professional, unobstrusive and friendly. We were greeted upon checkin with champagne and a small snack. Tea and cookies are served at tea time, and the morning breakfast is great.
The Inn is located on the edge of the battlefield grounds and is convenient to town too (driving distance around 2 miles). The Inn's main restaurant was also excellent; there were 4 separate dining areas, some with fireplaces. The food was quite innovative, and the wine list was tremendous. It is clearly also the best place to have dinner in Gettysburg even if you do not stay at the inn. For more casual dining there is a second bar/restaurant in a separate building that gets a lively crowd. All in all a very enjoyable, restful vacation. This was our second visit, and we will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryLouM358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your very descriptive review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us. Our B&B staff try very hard to make each guest feel welcomed and at home here. Glad also you ate in our fine dining restaurant and checked out Sharpshooters Bar and Grille. Come back soon, as we are always finding ways to improve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our stay here was outstanding! Beautiful room, beautiful view, excellent food. Everything was great, the bed was soft, the jacuzzi tub was relaxing, the deck off of our room had an awesome view. The breakfast also was delicous and the location is perfect...not in the heart of downtown, but only a few minute drive from everything. Also, the robes were so plush and soft! A top notch B & B!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your review concerning your stay at the Inn at Herr Ridge. It certainly sounds like you enjoyed every aspect of your visit and we certainly enjoyed having you. Please come back and be our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,091 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
236 reviews
2.1 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,570 reviews
2.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Herr Ridge

Address: 900 Chambersburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $186 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Herr Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting atmosphere of the Inn at Herr Ridge is unforgettable. Built in 1815 and nestled between the historic battlefields of Gettysburg and one of Pennsylvania's wooded treasures, Caledonia State Park, the Inn offers a rare experience to every guest who crosses the threshold, and is only minutes from town. Tastefully decorated, charmingly unique rooms await. Enjoy an evening in your room by the fireplace, or step into your private Jacuzzi bath. Hungry? Experience the alluring setting of our private dining room. And don't forget the wine. We offer an extensive wine spectator award winning wine list. Many of which are stored in our exquisite, windowed wine cellar. Our full-service bar also offers premium spirits. The main house of the Inn, became the first Confederate hospital during the battle of Gettysburg. It is beautifully restored and listed in the National Register of Historic Places. If you are searching for a relaxing and romantic getaway, look no further. The fireplace is glowing, and the wine is chilled. Come visit us! We now have a Tesla Charging Station for our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Herr Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Herr Ridge Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing