We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR FAVORITE B & B!”
Review of Inn at Herr Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Herr Ridge
Ranked #9 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I just spent a long weekend celebrating our anniversary. We stayed in Room 11, very large w/a table & 2 chairs, a desk, a large chair w/ottoman and king bed. We have stayed here twice in the last year and both times it has been excellent. The staff if very accomodating with requests and greet you everytime you enter or leave the building. The breakfast are very good with a nice selection of cereals, fruits and pastries to compement the hot entree. Sharpshooter's Tavern next door provides a nice place for sandwiches, drinks and enterainment.

Room Tip: If you wish a more quiet room, I would recommend a room in the Annex. Rooms 1 - 4 are all located i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your very complimentary review of the Inn at Herr Ridge. We are so pleased you chose our bed and breakfast to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Room 11, with it's king size bed, is one of our more popular rooms. We're glad you found it to your liking. Glad, also, you had a chance to dine at Sharpshooters Bar and Grille. Please come back and be our guests again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 474 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Herr Inn. I chose the Herr Inn because I wanted an authentic, period place to stay while we visited Gettysburg. In this respect, we were not disappointed. We stayed in Room 2 and were charmed by its ambiance and warmth as well as the decor throughout the inn. We had no ghostly encounters, which was just fine as we were not looking for that. The breakfasts were outstanding from the fresh fruits and pastries to the individually prepared entrees and the staff was very friendly and attentive. There were two reasons that I did not give our experience five stars, First, in our room upon arrival, we found a fruit and cheese tray along with a couple of small bottles of wine on ice--a welcome surprise and a very nice touch. However, we did not open the wine, thinking to save it for our second night. To our surprise, it disappeared the next morning when our room was tidied. It could have been left for our second night. Secondly, the bed was probably the most uncomfortable of the beds we slept in on our two week vacation. For such a highly rated inn, I would think that they could provide a more comfortable mattress.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tskuziej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at The Inn at Herr Ridge. I'm glad you liked room two and enjoyed your breakfasts both mornings you were with us. I'm sorry your champagne was taken after your first night. Please, if you ever return and that happens, you only need to mention it to our staff, and they will gladly bring you more. And thank you also for your constructive criticism of your bed. We will definitely look into it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We found the facility to be very spacious, charming and historically themed with a large dining facility, full bar, antique furnishings in the hotel/restaurant/common areas. The sleeping rooms are also VERY LARGE, more so than you would expect from a Bed and Breakfast style facility. We stayed in Room 10 with a Queen Bed, large bathroom with jacuzzi tub, and our friends stayed in the largest room, Room 9, which was almost like a small study apartment. Very large with a couch/seating area and nice leather chair in front of the TV. Our room, Room 9, could have been a bit more smartly furnished though. Other than a small desk and chair right inside the room, and the bed, there was one ONE chair to sit and lounge to watch TV or just sit. They need more lounge furniture in the room and there is DEFINITELY room to put it. Outside our rooms is a wonderful common living room area with plenty seating though to sit and have tea, etc, and enjoy company. One of our biggest complaints was our BED. We had and Queen, most of the rooms do which is another complaint. These rooms are HUGE - why don't any of them have KING BEDS? Anyway, our Queen bed was softy and uneven. My husband slept on the floor most of the night. This is aweful. You go to a hotel/overnight facility for one main reason - TO SLEEP!! Shouldn 't a comfortable bed be priority ONE for the facility? This was very disasppointing, especially to my husband, who has a bad back.
The staff was friendly but most of them are young and not so professional. It's quite clear they are either friends or close to the owners or new. They just did not show a lot of professionalism. For example, the gal who took my reservations made some mistakes quoting policy and this almost resulted in us not being able to stay because apparently there is a 2-night minimum and she told us when we reserved that there was not. Someone called back the next day trying to explain policy but I think because it was clear it was their mistake, she accomodated our 1-night request. Don't get me wrong, the staff is very friendly and accomodating but just seems a bit inexperienced in terms of hospitality. The gal who waited on us for breakfast read the day's special from a little piece of paper. One of the words was French and she couldn't read it. I would say either don't read it or learn to read it right - it just looked bad, especially reading from the little piece of paper. And the gal who apparently made my Bloody Mary stopped by the table (very nice) to see if my drink was OK and admitted that she wasn't sure if she made it right....What? Again, either have someone that knows how to make it right actually make the drink or definitely don't come to the table and tell us about it. The drink was fine. Just little things like this came across unprofessional for a place that's charging $250 per night for rooms. Should be top notch staff and hospitality. Both our friends with us, and myself are in the customer service industry so we were probably extra conscious of these things.

My husband would also comment that the little mini-fridge in the common living area stocked with drinks (very nice idea) had NO Diet Coke and even after he requested it, there was none there.

One more thing regarding the cancellation policy. The cancellation policy is EXCESSIVE. If you cancel TWO WEEKS or soon to your stay-date they charge you the FULL cost of the room. Most major hotel chains do not do this. I cannot understand 24- o r 48-hours before your stay-date, but TWO WEEKS? That is excessive.

Nice place to stay. If we need a B&B in the area again, I'm sure we would consider it but we've gotten much more hospitable service at others in the area and we'd definitely only stay there if we were assured that they got new beds in the rooms (or at least in Room 10!)

Room Tip: Room 9 is quite LARGE and if you are traveling with a child or third person, this one room (or other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We want to thank the wonderful people at the Inn at Herr Ridge, Michelle H, Gina, Andrew, Robin, Michael, Connie, Kelsi and Autumn, for making our visit to Gettysburg such a pleasant experience. From check-in to check-out, these individuals were exactly the kind of people that would be my choice to hire if I was running a B&B or hotel.
Thanks so much for making us and our best friends who were with us, so happy and so "at home" in your inn. Excellent food and comfortable rooms with historic atmosphere made our stay perfect.
We will highly recommend your inn to anyone that we know who is visiting Gettysburg.
Thanks again,
Marian & Bruce Klein

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

It was absolutely our pleasure to have the four of you as our guests here at the Inn. We are so pleased you found everyone here friendly, helpful and pleasant. The staff tries really hard to make our guests feel welcome and at home. Thank you also for the suggestion concerning a card table. We are always open to suggestions for ways we can better serve our guests. Please come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a beautiful place this is. The mot pleasing part of our stay was the interaction with the staff. EVERYONE was so welcoming, pleasant and helpful. We arrived about 3 hours before check-in time and were amazed when we were ushered to the bar, given a glass of champagne and told we could have a our room in ten minutes!! There was nothing they could have done to improve our stay. We had dinner in the lovely dining room, porch area. Our waiter was superb. His name is Andrew and he is a college student at Gettysburg. His service was impecable...polite and solicitous without being intrusive. It was only his first week working there and he was just amazing. We really enjoyed talking with him and with all the other wait staff at breakfast....food was just delicious. Can't say enough about this place....room was large, spotless, fire place, jacuzzi tub, etc. (rm #6). Can't recommend this place highly enough. It is located just outside of the town and in a quiet location. Try it...you'll love it!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in rm #6 which can accommodate 3 people if necessary...we only had 2 people. Huge Jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Well, thank you very much for your complimentary review! We are so glad you found everyone here at the Inn to be pleasant and helpful. Our entire staff works very hard to make sure each guest feels welcome and at home here. Please come back and see us the next time you come to Gettysburg and let us exceed your expectations again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our sons gave us a trip to the Inn at Herr Ridge for our 20th anniversary. Everything was wonderful. The room, the food, the staff. We stayed in room 1. The floors were a little creaky in spots but that only added to the charm. We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad your sons chose our Inn as a gift for your anniversary. We are honored when folks celebrate their special occasions with us. Also glad you didn't mind the creaky floors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went here to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. The food & service was excellent. We both received a hot stone massage, Shirley did a wonderful job. We plan on returning here in the future. It was superb!

Room Tip: Room 9, the lodge room, is very spacious! It is quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleNBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your positive review. We are so happy your chose The Inn at Herr Ridge to celebrate your husband's 50th birthday. Glad also, you could relax and enjoy the hot stone massages from Shirley. Please come back and celebrate all your birthdays here at the Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,131 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,612 reviews
1.8 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#3 of 23 in Gettysburg
390 reviews
2 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Battlefield Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Herr Ridge

Address: 900 Chambersburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-3312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range: $186 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Herr Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting atmosphere of the Inn at Herr Ridge is unforgettable. Built in 1815 and nestled between the historic battlefields of Gettysburg and one of Pennsylvania's wooded treasures, Caledonia State Park, the Inn offers a rare experience to every guest who crosses the threshold, and is only minutes from town. Tastefully decorated, charmingly unique rooms await. Enjoy an evening in your room by the fireplace, or step into your private Jacuzzi bath. Hungry? Experience the alluring setting of our private dining room. And don't forget the wine. We offer an extensive wine spectator award winning wine list. Many of which are stored in our exquisite, windowed wine cellar. Our full-service bar also offers premium spirits. The main house of the Inn, became the first Confederate hospital during the battle of Gettysburg. It is beautifully restored and listed in the National Register of Historic Places. If you are searching for a relaxing and romantic getaway, look no further. The fireplace is glowing, and the wine is chilled. Come visit us! We now have a Tesla Charging Station for our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Herr Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Herr Ridge Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing