We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fix me...pu-leez!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fix me...pu-leez!”
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I've stayed at the Eisenhower the same days in June for the past ten years...and I think they have yet to do any improvements to the original hotel or train the lackadaisical staff. On arrival I waited 10 mintues for someone, anyone to check me in, to no avail. I tried dialing the operator. No dice - they had gone to get their cheeseburger and fries from the restaurant. Went to the bar, but the bartender (who was actually quite sweet), still held up half a bar full of people to gossip with friends working at the restaurant. The room itself was just OK - windows hadn't been painted in 20 years, fitted sheet didn't fit the bed and pulled loose all night, but at least the AC worked and room was clean (tho' smelled musty/nasty). Room freshener would have helped. Meals are just OK, breakfast is nasty - go to Cafe St. Amand on Baltimore St. near the large square at center of town for the best breakfast in Gettysburg. Pool is indoor, so forget about a tan. On the plus side, the hotel is quiet, family-friendly, with a large amusement center and go-carts next door. Rates are low, and close to battlefield but no shopping or anything else close by. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    97
    111
    96
    126
See reviews for
126
90
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel many times... in both buildings. We love staying here, the rooms are great, friendly staff, great food and low rates.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gettysburgpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We were very excited when we heard that the SHCA National Specialty was going to be held here. Reading all the reviews it sounded like such a great place to spend a week.
Our room was so old and boring I was really surprised that for a big name it didn't even hold a candle to some of the "bargain" hotels we have stayed in. The room was so small it was claustrophobic. There was not one piece of decoration on the walls. The A/C didn't work and no one ever came when we reported it. The window would open but the crank arm was broken so you had to take out the screen to pull it closed by hand. The TV was about a 17 inch relic from the dark ages.The marketplace, which was the only place to get snacks had a line out the door for all the hours it was open with one person serving. There were no pay movie channels, no info book in the room to find out where everything was, no room service.
The worst part as that the "special dog show rate" (which we booked 9 months ago) was 110 per night and my friend was able to book a room with two queen beds---a sofa---refrigerator etc. on their website a week before at $79 !!!!
The only thing good I can say was that the food at our banquet was very good.

  • Liked — Banquet Dinner was good
  • Disliked — Room was pitiful;
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I stayed here for a scrapbooking convention. It was a picture-perfect weekend. Our rooms were clean and quite - the fridge and microwave in the rooms were an added bonus. The staff provided great facilities for my friends to work on our scrapbooks from a conference room all weekend. The room was well lit and secure and the staff checked on us periodically to make sure we had ice water and outlets for our printers and such. The restaurant was very good, although like the other reviewer mentioned, the breakfast buffet left something to be desired. It was very easy to charge meals in the restaurant to the room, too. The pool looked great, although I didn't have time to enjoy it, and it stays open until 10pm. The deli/gift shop doesn't offer the fastest service, but the food was good and the indoor/outdoor eatery was very comfortable to enjoy a relaxing lunch.

  • Liked — the restaurant was great
  • Disliked — they did not serve coke products - only Pepsi
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tamboriffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Walked into the room and it smelled mildewy and a little like pest control. Had a stove and refrigerator that did not work. Not enough wall sockets. To many things plugged into one behind bed and the lights kept going off because the socked was weighted down.
The pillows on the bed I swear had cotton balls in them. No sense in having pillows on bed if they aren't pillows.
Just old and run down. Needs a large infusion of cash if they expect to charge what they are charging. This is NOT a 3 or 4 star hotel.
2 at best.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank TennHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Hershey, PA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

After reading recent reviews of the Eisenhower, I wasn't expecting much. I had stayed here a few years ago for a scrapbooking weekend and stayed in the tower section and had no complaints. For this trip, I was meeting friends who were attending the Longaberger event at Boyd's Bear Country and they wanted to stay here because that's where the Longaberger basket makers stay, so I reluctantly agreed. The good points: the room was clean, check-in was easy, the waiter in the restaurant was very good (personable and helpful) and luckily the rooms were pretty soundproof - I couldn't hear any noise from the other rooms and only minor noise from the hallways. The bad points: the double beds seemed very small, the breakfast buffet wasn't great (but was inexpensive), and the pool was jammed with kids all day long because yes, there was a soccer tournament that weekend and the hotel was overrun with soccer kids from age 5 to 15. I can't really fault the hotel for that - they can't help that the supposed chaparones and parents were even ruder and more obnoxious than their kids. Luckily, everything went quiet by 11pm - I guess they were tired of running around all day and night. Overall, the experience wasn't terrible but it wasn't awesome either.

  • Liked — Clean, convenient to Boyd's Bear, soundproof rooms
  • Disliked — Soccer kids running around the halls
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank va2pa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk surrey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Stayed there for 2 nights 20/21 sept whilst attending a British Army Reunion. Whilst at the hotel there was a dog owner convention And I could not believe any hotel would allow dogs to be kept in guest rooms. ( guide dogs exception). I had to call the reception at 11pm to find the owner of the dog that was in the next room to me and stop it barking. also the hotel has some lovely grass areas and doggie bins were in abundance . But what a waste of time . dog owners were still letting their dogs crap on the grass and just leaving it there. Another subject the main bar. lack of staff 15 minutes to find a cork opener. one bar staff only. and just one more point Do not stay there if you have no transport 4miles from town no taxis.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
#20 of 28 in Gettysburg
200 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
558 reviews
5.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
875 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#25 of 28 in Gettysburg
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2634 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7115
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eisenhower is a unique resort with taste, style, and a staff proud of it's tradition of friendly attentive service. It's the hotel that guests remember with pleasure and return to again and again. Make The Eisenhower your Gettysburg Address and you're only minutes from the Historic Gettysburg National Military Park, golf, and skiing. Check-in is at 3pm. Check-out is 11am. Cancellation Policy: 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eisenhower Inn And Conference Center
Eisenhower Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing