We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A good stay at the Eisenhower” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Tiltonsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good stay at the Eisenhower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Okay, the other reviews are relevant to the property. We always stay here for a day or two every year. Yes, the property's decorating is dated, why, because I remember some of it from when I was in high school and stayed, 1981. The staff was responsive to me, the room was clean and the beds were super. Stayed in a inside first floor room, with 2 queen beds. The mattresses were top notch and made a great sleep. The pool was cold, obviously heat NOT working, they really should warn the guests. My wife has a serious heart condition and it made her sick, to the point it was difficult to get out of the pool. Had a pool lift, no stairs. Did not work, no instructions. If you have been staying there on a regular basis, they have made strides and are continuing. Clean, comfortable, but needs some work.

Room Tip: The rooms on the pool are nice, easy walk out and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrendels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    87
    102
    87
    112
See reviews for
101
79
26
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our 28th anniversary. The staff were friendly. One of the outer doors was broken and allowed anyone to enter the hotel day or night. Our room was cleaned well by the maid staff but the carpet and the sofa were filthy and in need if a steam cleaning. The cosmetic and maintenance issues were too numerous to mention. The broken refrigerator stored in the hallway for over a day was an eye sore as well as a hazard. The screen and window crank were both damaged and inoperable. This place is in need of lots of maintenance to compete with other hotels in the area. This is a tolerable place to stay if your not expecting much for the price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank talonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gettysburg hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Old - old furniture, peeling wallpaper, dirty walls, furniture that should be put in dumpster. Sound system for conference poor - could not hear in back of room. Very cold conference room on second day - repairmen coming in often to see if they could fix it. Changed price of restaurant breakfast after people ate there. Advertise indoor pool - it was freezing in there - we couldn't swim. Exercise room had old and dusty equipment. Look for another spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank maumaljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solebury, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wouldn't you know our group of three couples would pick the weekend during the government shutdown to visit a national park that was closed! Thanks to the Gettysburg Foundation, the Visitors Center was open so we still enjoyed quite a bit of our nation's history, but could not actually visit the battlefields. Only the public roads were open. You couldn't even get out or walk to a monument or on the fields. Oh well. We still had fun.

We had chosen to stay at the Eisenhower Hotel & Conf Center since they were the only hotel with three rooms for three nights when we booked. Seems Columbus Day weekend is the busiest time of the year for Gettysburg! Who knew?

Checked in without any problem and went to our rooms. Our room had a light bulb out on the desk, so I switched it with the floor lamp and left a note for housekeeping. The next morning when taking a shower, I noticed a very thin soap sliver still in the soap dish. Yuck. Left from SEVERAL guests ago, it was so thin. Also discovered a long black hair hanging from the light fixture over the bed (I'm blonde and my husband has short grey hair).

Room Two next door had a light out over the vanity outside the bathroom. They too left a note for housekeeping.

All six went for the breakfast buffet in the dining room. $10 for toast, scrambled eggs (old and dry), bacon/sausage and dry cereal. Several of our group asked for eggs over easy which the chef prepared and waitress brought, begrudgingly. Typically not something they do for buffet, but it was not crowded and the eggs in the steam pan were old.

Later that day we all discussed we were running low on toilet paper - no extra roll on the tank. So THAT was mentioned to housekeeping/front desk, as well as the need for light bulbs (still).

That night Room Two lost the lights over the beds while changing tv channels with the remote. Strange since neither was connected, but the timing was perfect. Later it was determined the plug must have come out????

Day three we still had no additional toilet paper, no light bulbs, and the soap was still in the soap dish. A women (Supervisor?) from housekeeping actually went to the desk to get paper to write all this down, but STILL nothing happened to correct the issues while we were gone. Finally, after returning from a day of sightseeing and raising a little H-E-double hockeysticks with the front desk, we had paper and light bulbs delivered to the room around 8PM that night.

Next morning, as we were checking out, some adjustments were made to Room two's bill for their inconvenience. When I explained OUR issues to the clerk, she apologized profusely and made much-appreciated adjustments to OUR bill. Except... when we got home, I realized the credit to the bill was not to our credit card, but Room two's!!! A call to the manager/Accounting got the credit to our card instead, so we'll see what happens when the bill comes in!

Room Three had problems of their own doing! No fault of the hotel.

Overall, the hotel is dated but comfortable. The bathroom has a sink/vanity and outside the BR door is another sink/vanity... always a plus. Our first floor rooms were on the inside of the building, so we opened up to the indoor pool. Convenient if you use the pool, especially for kids. On the other hand, I could never see sunshine or get a sense of the weather.

Beds were comfortable. TV reception was good, but there was no card or info to tell you what channels were what. As a matter of fact, there was nothing in our room giving you any details about the hotel, restaurant, snack bar, lounge, area, etc.

Carpets were stained, especially in the hallway. I was hoping for a fridge in the room, but you may be able to ask for or rent them, as I saw several in the hallway outside rooms. None was offered, even when I asked. I must say, the staff was always pleasant. Just completely unresponsive for coming through with results!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Door to room falling off hinges, door facing pool doesn't lock, light over bathroom sink didn't work, lamps in room crooked, carpets stained, threadbare, odors, not vacuumed, wall paper falling off everywhere. Stayed 3 nights with no housekeeping any day. Work out facility dirty, dead bugs on floor, carpet stained, sticky candy on floor, treadmill not working, cables on universal sticky, pads ripped. Called ahead and were told an early check in was no problem. We showed up an hour after the time we were told and still had to wait an hour. Twice I went down to speak to a manager and he wasn't there. Far too expensive for the facility. Our recommendation - go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Not here. Find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The Eisenhower hotel is dated, dirty, and falling apart. The ceiling in our bathroom was about to cave in on our heads. There were stains and general dirt on the walls. The carpet in our room was disgusting. The elevator stinks of mold and mildew. Our bed was comfortable and the nicest part of the hotel was the lobby. The so-called "deli" had one of the worst cups of coffee I have ever had in my life. The Eisenhower was probably beautiful when it was new, but it is totally past it's prime.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paceeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 days/2 nights at the Aspire. Very clean rooms with everything I needed. Comfortable. Conference rooms were nice as well. The older portion needs some updating but provided everything we needed. Staff was super friendly. The food was good. The fruit was really fresh, especially the pineapple. I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Book the aspire, notthe Eisenhower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LibrarianKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
#21 of 28 in Gettysburg
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,171 reviews
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
Red Carpet Inn Gettysburg
#26 of 28 in Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2634 Emmitsburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7115
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eisenhower is a unique resort with taste, style, and a staff proud of it's tradition of friendly attentive service. It's the hotel that guests remember with pleasure and return to again and again. Make The Eisenhower your Gettysburg Address and you're only minutes from the Historic Gettysburg National Military Park, golf, and skiing. Check-in is at 3pm. Check-out is 11am. Cancellation Policy: 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eisenhower Inn And Conference Center
Eisenhower Hotel Gettysburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing