We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Horse Soldier

The Horse Soldier
219 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-0347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 69 things to do in Gettysburg
Attraction details
Carver, Massachussetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a retail store/museum where the artifacts are for sale!
Lots of weaponry, bottles, uniforms, memorabilia ets. Friendly knowledgable staff. Owned by local folks. A real treat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    11
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing! 150+ year old muskets, rifles, artifacts all for sale!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I cannot describe how this is an amazing 'hands on' museum. The range of items start from the early 1800's to Korean conflict and some more recent US armed forces clothing. Everything is on sale which in itself is mind boggling. The prices are reasonable too considering the more rare items - anything that is confederate I.e. You can handle 150+ year old muskets, rifles swords etc. no sales people to bother you. Amazing selection of all types of hand guns, swords & bayonets(!) and rifle muskets. Many where in battle and very very few repro's (like almost all other places in Gettysburg) all original issue. if you are any kind of history (also currency, paintings, books, photographs, medals, uniforms etc.) & weapon buff, you will be very hard to break away from this 'store' there is so much to take in. I cannot recommend this store more highly it is deservedly #2 behind the battlefield itself. A must see & it's free!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BillVPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is well worth a visit. A great museum, with no admission, as well as a store (most of the artifacts can be purchased). Many artifacts can be purchased for a dollar or two (bullets, buttons, etc.) or you can spend thousands for rifles, uniforms, etc. Excellent way to spend some time, you might even learn a few things along the way.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed looking around at all the artifacts. Our boys liked looking at all the guns and swords. A store that is a great museum. Glad we stopped.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dboys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An absolute must if you go to Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was looking for a place to buy a real relic of Gettysburg and saw this place. I was in shock at all the history available for sale. It was like being a kid in a candy shop. I absolutely loved it and bought a nice gunpowder horn from the war. I highly recommend this shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank annasimpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Horse Soldier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing