We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Johnny Como's Cupcakes and Coffee
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cupcakes, Cookies, Cruz-Nuts, Pies,Scones, Cannoli's and more! Always fresh baked in the retro 50's kitchen built like Grandma Rose Como! Dont forget the Coffee, Tea Lattes and Espresso to top off your goodies!Be sure to visit the pink 50's style kitchen! We look forward to meeting you and your family...Johnny and Susie Como!
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this shop. It was totally cute, and the workers were so friendly. I got the cannoli cupcake, and I REALLY wanted to like it and give this shop 5 stars. Although it wasn't bad, it just wasn't very tasty. Perhaps the other flavors are better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geometryjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    28
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“way too overpriced!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

6 mini, bite sized cup cakes for $10?! They're nuts, even in Gettysburg. The bakery next door has generously sized cupcakes for cheaper.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Turned me off to cupcakes for awhile”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Honestly, what the heck did we just attempt to eat??!! We walked in and the place was amazingly cute. There is so much to look at because it's all 1950's vintage themed. The cupcakes looked equally amazing. Our first mistake was jumping the gun. We bought 6 for $20.00!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (without taste testing one first) thinking well, "they are THIS damn expensive they HAVE to be good!!!" First, they were cold. Like in a very very cold fridge cold. The hunk of icing was not in the least creamy. It had the consistency of a huge half a fist sized glob of very cold , hard Crisco. That's exactly what it tasted like too. No flavor what-so-ever. Second, they were smaller than what you make with Duncan Hines. For that price each?! I don't think so. Painfully, we threw them all away in a street garbage can of Gettysburg and waved goodbye to our $20.00. Not recommended. Very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ennasus03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice friendly shop - Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stopped in for some cupcakes. Nice selection, service was very good. Cupcakes while on the small side were also very good. Also enjoyed talking with the owner. Give it a try. Its all good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank obwan1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, Interesting Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

It's a block or two off the square, but worth the time. The ladies working were very friendly and accommodating. Interesting layout and decor, too. It is kinda pricey for the little cupcakes and coffee, but that is the gourmet cupcake trend, it seems. Tasted great, though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tp822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Como's Cupcakes and Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Como's Cupcakes and Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing