We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Found It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sachs Covered Bridge

Sachs Covered Bridge
Ranked #13 of 100 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Found It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a beautiful bridge, but its a little hard to find. After looking for it, I said turn down this road and we'll make a U turn and low and behold there it was.

Its not far off the battlefield, so go exploring.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave4008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    138
    39
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
395 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I love covered bridges, so I enjoyed this. You hear all the rumors about the bridge being haunted, so I was hoping to see a ghost or feel a presence or something out of the ordinary, but did not. I didn't expect to, so I wasn't surprised. You cannot cross the bridge, so regardless which side you come from, you must turn around to go back. If you are using a navigation system, it can be difficult to find.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank c685710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We used on-star to get us to the road the bridge was located on from the battlefield. It was easy to find once we got to the road. It was worth the stop as it is a beautifully restored covered bridge that was as much a part of the history as the battlefield.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franktown
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

on a gorgeous autumn day, the bridge was gorgeous. be sure to walk across it and along the road a bit and also walk the path before crossing the bridge. it's beautiful back there

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If your a ghost hunter you'll want to go here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

You can only visit this place from dawn to dusk. If you want to get in here after dark you have to go on the extreme ghost hunt available in town at the shops. The cost is $30.00 per person for that hunt and they provide you with the equipment needed to do the investigation. If you want to see pictures of what they got there go to Mark Nesbits Ghost of Gettysburg tours and look on the walls. Beautiful bridge to go see though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeeDevaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sachs Covered Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Sachs Covered Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing