We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Faithfully Restored"”

Sachs Covered Bridge
Ranked #12 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“"Faithfully Restored"”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

While the bridge was carried downstream several years back in a storm, it has been returned and looks as it originally did, EXCEPT that it has been elevated a few feet to help protect it from future floods. You would not know it has been carried away and returned except for a plack stating some of the facts about it, and a little about the Amish Craftsmen who restored it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    140
    41
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful bridge with history”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was my second time visitng Sachs Covered Bridge. There are no signs pointing to it so you really need to ask for directions. It is very quiet when you get out at the bridge. We went at night to see if we could catch any paranormal activity, which we didn't. There were tons of people there as one of the tours from town goes to this stop. We returned the next day in the morning to walk around and take pictures. Worth seeing!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank steelersgal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Paranormal?”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

It is apparently a favored stop for paranormal groups and for local tour groups looking to take the causal fan to search for spirits. When we got there, there were a lot of people milling around so we waited for quite a while. We took photos but didn't do any sort of investigation until everyone had left. Within a few minutes, we were seeing shadows dart along the opposite end of the bridge and along its sides, hearing rocks being thrown against the side, and seeing lights and mists swirl. Now I'm not 100% sure about the mists since it was a bit foggy so it may have not been paranormal. We haven't gone through any of the evidence since we got back so we'll see what we see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but creepy place to go at night to look for paranormal activity!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nicely restored bridge & nice place to visit, especially after dark if you like looking for paranormal activity. We did not see anything on our visit, but I would recommend it to others.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bungbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Bridge”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nice little ride to get away for a moment of the national Park. Quiet, great for a photos... Just a nice place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank philsmith609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sachs Covered Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Sachs Covered Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing