We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tillie Pierce House Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tillie Pierce House Inn
Ranked #17 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you are looking to stay in a place that is unique, that reflects a past era, then stay here. If you are more comfortable in a hotel, this wouldn't be for you. However, for an old house, the rooms are quite comfortable and have their own bathrooms. We staying in the blue Room and it was very large. The bathroom only had a shower, but that was fine with us. If you require a bathtub, you will have to check if any of the rooms have one. There is a hospitality room off the downstairs dining room and it is stocked with cereal, fruit, and lots of great pastries. Plenty to fill you up to start your day. Once again, if you have to have a hot breakfast, you won't get it here. Becky, the manager, is very accommodating and is very helpful. As far as ghosts, I heard lots of sounds, footsteps the first night, but nothing scary nor definitive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    25
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
56
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiltonsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Sleeping in/with history. Great staff, location and surroundings. Right in the middle of everything, easy walking to attractions and stores. Really quiet for being right in the middle of everything. Clean and great furnishings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrendels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

In town, there are two areas of interest - the square (shops, restaurants, etc) and the historic area (museums, more shops and restaurants). I like to stay the quiet little spot right in the middle - an easy walk to both areas. The Tillie Pierce House is right in the middle - a great location. We didn't mind that they didn't have a full service breakfast - we found the food in the hospitality area was as good as many motels' continental breakfast, and that was just fine with us. Plus there were snacks and beverages there all day. I don't drink coffee or tea, but loved that I could make hot chocolate every morning in the Keurig. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I suggest staying in the Fannie Buehler Grand Suite (of course we called it the Ferris Buehler Room...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveSmithUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was my first time to visit Gettysburg and the Tillie Pierce House was inviting and made me want to revisit for a girls' weekend. The accommodations were clean. We stayed in the 2nd floor suite in the back of the house. Many people have complained of the traffic noise, but staying in the back did not create a problem. It was nice to have off street parking. The location is great. We did lots of walking and could walk to the downtown area and also up to the Dobbin House. I would recommend the location and the house.

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back of the inn--they're quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackCatNyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My friends and I were on a girl's overnite. Four of us booked a deal for Gettysburg, that included lodging in the inn. The inn was very clean. My room was in the front of the house, traffic kept us awake all night. Ask for a room away from the street. The bathroom only had a big bottle of white rain body wash in the shower. No shampoo available... We weren't comfortable sharing body wash with who knows how many other people! If you want to wash your hair...? "Breakfast" was continental, not a full breakfast. as we have received at other b&b's. While the manager, Becky, was accomadating, as when all the regular coffee was gone, and friendly, we won't return. We prefer to stay where we aren't sharing toiletries with other people!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

One of the best lodging experiences you can have when visiting Gettysburg. The house is absolutely charming…you really do feel as if you have stepped back into history. The Inn is perfectly located where everything is within walking distance and that is a huge plus for me. The Inn Keeper/Manager, Becky, is second to none. Rarely do you deal with such a pleasant, accommodating person who is genuinely concerned about the quality of your stay! Ask Becky about the house’s history, you won’t be disappointed! I stayed in the “Pink Room” facing Baltimore Street – loved it! I will be staying in the same room again later this month. It is true that the Tillie Pierce House Inn is haunted but delightfully so. Be sure to visit their 24-Hr Hospitality Room located on the second floor…generously and selectively stocked for your convenience and comfort. The TPHI has my highest recommendation and truly completes the Gettysburg’s experience…one you won’t soon forget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and it was wonderful! We stayed in the Grande Suite and it was perfect! It was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, decorated nicely, and the staff was very welcoming. We come to Gettysburg about once a month and this was the first time we stayed in a B&B and we will def be back! Not only is the place beautiful but there's something to the ghost stories they tell. Watch for the ghost cat when you make your coffee. He came running up to me before he went poof! My husband and I had tons of experiences here and we didn't mind. Just adds to the charm. We hated to leave and can't wait to come back. Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tshifflett83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.2 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tillie Pierce House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tillie Pierce House Inn

Property: Tillie Pierce House Inn
Address: 301 Baltimore St, Gettysburg, PA 17325-2602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tillie Pierce House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and historic Inn, located in the heart of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. All accommodations have their own modern bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tillie Pierce House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing