We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ice cream, neat place, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mr. G's Ice Cream

Mr. G's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 14 Dessert in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mr. G's Ice Cream is located in the historic John Winebrenner house in Gettysburg Pennsylvania. Battle scarred by bullets on the south side of the building and reportedly haunted by spirits of the past, Mr. G's offers delicious homemade and soft serve ice cream. Stop in and try one of our homemade waffle cones and enjoy the ambience of this historic Gettysburg building
Monroe, Washington
2 reviews
“Great ice cream, neat place, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our group of 30 middle school age kids showed up in Gettysburg on a warm evening. The kids clamored for ice cream, and Mr G's happened to be right there. They quickly, efficiently served our whole group, getting everyone's order right...and the ice cream was great! To top it all off, one of the kids left a souvenir jacket behind. We didn't realize where the jacket was until the next day, several hours away. A quick call to Mr. G's confirmed that they had the jacket. They understood the importance of the souvenir and happily packaged up the jacket and sent it to the school....AND, covered the postage to do so...talk about SERVICE.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    142
    41
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice relief for a warm day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

What a historical place! Perfect place to take a rest and consume tasty ice-cream! Prices were fair and the ice-cream was fresh and unique flavors were offered. Staff was friendly and hard-working.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Weycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for ice cream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The first thing you will notice is the quaint building and grounds. It's all very welcoming and relaxing. There are several places to sit outside and enjoy your ice cream, and some fun ring games to play as well. They have tons of ice cream options-- hard scooped and soft serve-- and nearly endless options for eating it-- cone, cup, sugar cone, sugar bowl, sundae, blizzard, etc. The ice cream was yummy, and the staff were friendly, thorough, and speedy. It was quite busy, even at 9:15pm, but they kept the line moving. There is also a gift shop in the back-- more of a store that sells Life is Good items and higher end gifts and items. A bonus is that there is a public ladies room available. You just have to ask for a key, and the restroom is located on the outside of the building, towards the gift shop, across from the well. Only draw back is that it's a little pricey, but it's the same as other ice cream places.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldenparadox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool place for a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice place to stop in for a treat. They provide indoor and outdoor seating. my personal favorite is the banana split, I like building it the way I like it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank craigandtamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heyworth, Illinois
Level Contributor
201 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream - even for a non ice cream lover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Since the reviews were so good for Mr. G's and because it was about 100 degrees outside, we decided to stop for a treat. And a treat it was! I am not a typical ice cream fan and decided to try it since the reviews are so high on Trip Advisor and Yelp. I got the chocolate chip and my family members got the vanilla and butter pecan. Can you say DELICIOUS?? Yes it was! The location is not too bad - we found parking pretty easily on the street. Like others have said, if you go to Gettysburg, treat yourself to some good ice cream.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LKS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. G's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Mr. G's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing