We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. G's Ice Cream

Mr. G's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 14 Dessert in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mr. G's Ice Cream is located in the historic John Winebrenner house in Gettysburg Pennsylvania. Battle scarred by bullets on the south side of the building and reportedly haunted by spirits of the past, Mr. G's offers delicious homemade and soft serve ice cream. Stop in and try one of our homemade waffle cones and enjoy the ambience of this historic Gettysburg building
Level Contributor
132 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

The homemade cookie dough ice cream I had was incredible. The "Ghost Tracks" ice cream was the richest and most heavily peanut butter infused (you can see the huge hunks of peanut butter) I have ever seen. Line moves very quickly!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoFryGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    140
    40
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Plenty O Sundae.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Had a soft serve Hot Fudge Sundae, very good and plenty of ice cream for the price. Could not finish it all. Speedy and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Willstravels_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Soft Ice Cream on a Sat. Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stopped here for soft ice cream the service was great and the ice cream better. We also stopped at the gift shop and looked around and than took a walk through town a great afternoon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RCB520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummels Wharf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I seems we have to visit Mr. G's every time we get to Gettysburg. It is one of our favorite stops. This time we brought 4 more people along with us. And yes they love it also. Every time we have to stand in line for at least 20 minutes, but I believe that means they have very good ice cream and good things take a while to get. We highly recommend a stop at Mr. G's on your next visit to Gettysburg.
Kathy Young
Hummels Wharf, PA

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We live a few hours from Gettysburg but is it every year. Not just once, but every day we are in town we visit Mr. G's and are always treated very nicely! We love sitting outside and playing the ring game as well!

Helpful?
Thank Spider-Man1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. G's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Mr. G's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing