We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT ICE CREAM IN TOWN”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mr. G's Ice Cream

Mr. G's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 14 Dessert in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mr. G's Ice Cream is located in the historic John Winebrenner house in Gettysburg Pennsylvania. Battle scarred by bullets on the south side of the building and reportedly haunted by spirits of the past, Mr. G's offers delicious homemade and soft serve ice cream. Stop in and try one of our homemade waffle cones and enjoy the ambience of this historic Gettysburg building
usa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT ICE CREAM IN TOWN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great Ice cream...loved the Ring / Hook game out front / right in town. Some tables in case you want to hang out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    142
    41
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You can tell it's homemade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Delicious, some interesting history at the location as well. Served quick. This was our last stop on our visit. Some very good ice cream, excellent assortment of flavors and friendly staff!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarcF475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Homemade ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

All of the ice cream is homemade and toppings are fresh. My daughter had the special, homemade peach ice cream with fresh peaches. Very good. The house also has some history that some may want to check out before their visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TriciaLynnFasick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“History and ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I've lived in Gettysburg for a few years now, and I have to say, this is the one place I don't mind going even when it's packed with tourists. take some time to read about the history, (especially about the tree trunk table inside) while enjoying some homemade ice cream on a delicious waffle cone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crkobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finleyville, PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply the best ice cream.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Gettysburg and went both nights here for the fresh peach ice cream. The homemade waffle cones with the peach ice cream were mouth watering good! The 1st night my husband almost went back & got a repeat of his order. The ice cream is so good if you don't get there early you have to wait in line, but, it is worth the wait. They have some seating inside & out & we also found a nice little park with garden right across the street. This is a must do in Gettysburg!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j_edpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. G's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Mr. G's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing