We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at White Oak
Ranked #8 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have become very frequent guests at this inn and we keep returning because it is the best inn we have ever been to. We love everything about the Inn at White Oak! From their 3 course gourmet breakfasts, gorgeous guest quarters! We have stayed in all the quarters and have loved each one for different reasons but all are gorgeous and very relaxing and pampering! We love the privacy and peace we find on the property and the indoor pool is the perfect addition to our favorite place to visit! The owners are the greatest and we feel as if we are part of the family! We will be back again soon! We are having to book earlier and earlier as the word is getting out but it's well worth planning ahead and staying here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenandpaul6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
222
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I were blown away by our recent stay at the Inn at White Oak! We had read all the rave reviews, toured their lovely website and had even heard about this Inn through friends but we were blown away by the Inn and hospitality in person! The guest rooms are huge and comfortable, clean, gorgeous with amazing views! All of the common areas are so inviting and comfortable! My husband and I had a couples massage in the spa and loved every minute, it was so relaxing and beautiful! The indoor swimming pool was so amazing and the rock fireplaces burning made it even more romantic and memorable. The breakfasts are worth coming here for alone...they are amazing and Jillian made every course each morning different, delicious and even beautiful to look at! Her pecan pie muffins are to die for I wish the Inn at White Oak delivered! The hospitality was so amazing and genuine and we will spread the word that the Inn at White Oak is by far the most amazing inn we have ever been to! We will be back as often as we can! Thank you Sam, "Mom and Dad" and Jillian Downs for such an amazing visit!

Room Tip: We had a chance to see all the guest rooms and they are all huge and beautiful! We stayed in the Col...
See more room tips
Green Features: We were very impressed with all of the recycling, environmentally friendly products, that an inn this size is still on well and septic and we thought their efficient tankless water heaters were great!
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradescape7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We booked at the Inn at White Oak for its location, big beautiful suites, heated indoor pool and full on site spa, but what we found was so much more that can't be found anywhere else. The feeling you get when you've pulled in to visit old friends, the innkeepers greeted us on the drive in! We were warmly welcomed, given a full tour of the perfectly clean, perfectly beautiful mansion/Inn. We were given a map to explore the Inn and grounds. The suites were even more spacious and beautiful in person! The views are incomparable. The grounds are gorgeous and we relaxed by the ponds and koi. The full spa, movie theatre, tea room, parlor, billboards and game room were so inviting and comfortable and we actually felt welcomed to enjoy using them. The heated indoor pool was spectacular! The owners even made fires for us while swimming in the big rock fireplaces on either end of the room! We had homemade pumpkin pie and cookies for dessert and the breakfasts were the best we have ever had anywhere. The hospitality was not what we have experienced before and we truly felt like we were returning to visit old friends. The Inn at White Oak ha set the bar and we don't think anywhere else could measure up!

Room Tip: We stayed in the colonels suite and loved it! We wanted to move in!
See more room tips
Green Features: We really liked all their environmentally friendly practices and liked they were a green leader.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poodlepups945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts and many in Gettysburg and you get what you pay for and more at the Inn at White Oak. The other cheaper inns were just that and very disappointing. The Inn at White Oak does not cut corners and the attention to even the smallest detail was so appreciated. From the comfortable, extra down beds, fine linens and toiletries, comfortable luxury rooms, beautiful views, heated indoor pool with wood burning stone fireplaces, relaxing spa, incredible (and incredibly filling!) 3-course homemade breakfasts and five-star hospitality make this place worth every cent and more. We won't go anywhere else from now on.

Room Tip: We got to see each of the guest rooms and all were better than most everywhere we have seen or been...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very impressed with all of their green, environmentally friendly practices--even tankless hot water heaters.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth. TX
Level Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Commanders Quarters . . . definitely the best room. Wonderful ceiling to floor windows (even in the bathroom) looking out over ponds, fields, grassy areas, and animals . . .some 22 acres. . .definitely the biggest asset of the Inn. Lots of drinks and goodies in the kitchen which is open to guests 24 hours a day. Very welcoming hosts. The Inn is a lovely rustic, country property . . . decorations a little on the fussy side for me. I tend to go with more simplicity. Very nice king bed. Our bedroom and bathroom exceedingly large. Fireplace not a real fireplace (that would have been nice). All in all, comfortable, cozy, and quiet. Breakfast nicely prepared and served, but a bit on the sweet side. 5 minute drive into town. Great place to stay while visiting the battlefield.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We can only echo the sentiments of other guests about the ideal location the lovely rooms and the Innkeepers parents who were so nice and so very helpful. We never really got to meet their daughter and only said Hi to her husband one night as we returned from dinner - thought there maybe would have been more of an interest in our stay from him. We stayed in the Generals quarters which is a large room with the most comfortable bed and windows overlooking the outside lake and garden.
Luckily there was only one other couple on the far side of the Inn so we didn't have the possible issue of people looking into our room from the outside seating area. The windows wrap around the room but the glass is not the kind where you can see out and no-one can see in so it could be embarrassing and we wouldn't really want to spend our visit with the blinds down all the time just in case.
The other point worth mentioning about the room is that the bathroom is huge with a relatively small shower which appears to have been fitted in the toilet as an afterthought it felt as though there should have been a state of the art shower in there to match the rest of the room.
The facilities are amazing and we made use each evening of the lovely pool although we had little time for much else. It is the kind of place where you could spend a most relaxing few days just chilling and making the most of what it has to offer and seems to be almost too good for tourists with a hectic agenda.
Apart from the comments on the room our only complaint was that if you want to take your breakfast at any time other than 9am then there is a per person charge for doing so - in our experience, not just in USA but elsewhere too, we have NEVER had that situation before. The nightly charges are not on the low side and if guests need to leave early (in our case we had to return our rental car in Harrisburg and then get to the train station for a train to New York) then it is usual for the innkeepers to accommodate an earlier breakfast . Some tours start early too and guests need that flexibility. The parents who were looking after guests during our stay did get us some orange juice and bananas which were left in the fridge.

Room Tip: check out privacy if you will be in a room looking onto the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliewynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our second stay at the Inn at White Oak was even better than the first! The view from our room was breathtaking! The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are luxurious and the location is perfect - only a few minutes north of town. The Inn keepers treat you like family and have thought of every detail - from the homemade snacks, to plush bathrobes to the billiards table and board games to the thoughtful decor, not to mention the entertainment theater. Breakfast is made from scratch and is pure heaven!! The only place away from home where my husband can relax. We both felt like we were home away from home - super comfortable and cozy!!! Perfect place to relax.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bblast87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.4 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#15 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.9 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#9 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
6.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at White Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at White Oak

Property: The Inn at White Oak
Address: 1 White Oak Trl, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8039
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn and Spa at White Oak is the premier Gettysburg address! Set on 33 private acres, this grand Gettysburg Inn and full-service Spa with a heated, indoor swimming pool, is surrounded by history and luxury! The ultimate in tranquility and romance, The Inn at White Oak is just minutes from downtown Lincoln Square, Gettysburg College and all of the area's attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at White Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing