We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful getaway weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at White Oak
Ranked #9 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Wonderful getaway weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I took my husband to The Inn for a surprise birthday get away. It was so relaxing! The Inn is beautiful and very spacious. The grounds are lovely to enjoy a nice, leasurely walk. The breakfast was superb! We felt so welcomed by the owners, Jillian & Sam and her parents, Jay & Jeanie. They are perfect hosts! We did not use the heated indoor pool but wish we would have and will certainly do on our next visit - which there definitely will be another visit!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
222
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
517 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I have gone to many B&B in the last few years. We always choose what we feel is the top of the line and are willing to pay for it. We paid for one night in the Commander's Suite including tax , over $330. We checked in at 4:00 P.M. on Saturday and left at 11:00 A.M. Sunday. The grounds were beautiful, the room was huge and Mom and Dad were gracious. It's the bathroom that left us perplexed. We were told the glass was treated so in the day you couldn't see in. The bath was converted porch so where was 3 (one huge) glass walls. Both my husband and I went thinking nothing of it with the window ALL un-shaded. It stopped raining and we decided to take a walk in the lovely grounds and low and behold you CAN SEE to the toilet. The shower is very small and my husband almost twisted his ankle on the drain indentation surrounded by river rocks (also, my husband mention the caulking job on the shower wall was poorly done). The bathroom is so big they should enclose the toilet and put a bigger (maybe steam shower in). Breakfast was good. We are not independently wealthy - we are just two hard working people that wanted to splurge. We feel we did not get our money's worth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J D, Owner at The Inn at White Oak, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you Judy for your review, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and are sorry you were dissappointed. We wish you would have said something to us while you were our guest, but we did call and speak with you to apologize, and you said that you did enjoy everything except not pulling your privacy shades in the bathroom earlier. All of the Commander's room and bathroom windows all have custom shades (they were simply not closed during your tour so that you could enjoy the views until choosing to close them yourselves). All of the Commander's Quarters windows are also tinted to allow guests some privacy, yet still capitalize on the gorgeous views. We are sorry again that you were dissappointed, all of our guests mean so much to us and we all strive to make all of our guest's visits extra special. We sincerely hope you will return (and perhaps try one of our other lovely Quarters) sometime in the future! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slatington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Inn for our 25th wedding anniversary. We booked the Commanders Quarters which was 850 square feet of breathtaking beauty, comfort and relaxation. Rose petals spread on the floor throughout the suite. The grounds are beautiful and wonderful for walking and observing nature in its own habitat. The innkeepers are the most caring and friendly couple which made you feel at home from the moment you walked in the door!
This is a gorgeous B&B and is a "must stay" when visiting Gettysburg. We cannot wait to return for another stay at the Inn! . . . . Rose and Mike F.

Room Tip: Commanders Quarters is fabulous and is isolated from the other rooms at the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflintown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent our 17th anniversary here over the weekend. An absolutely wonderful place. The hosts were more than hospitable, the rooms were amazing, and the breakfast was out of this world. We will be visiting this inn again.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Every trip to this breathtaking B&B is a true relaxational delight! Each and every room is decorated with the loveliest of touches. The views make you speechless and the food is divine! The spa services I received were so incredibly rejuvenating and the indoor pool is extremely meditative! This gorgeous B&B practices lots of environmentally "green" practices and purchases local and organic whole foods. There is a nature sanctuary in the surrounding landscape and lots of options for guests to "go green" during their stay! The Innkeepers are the most genuine, caring, loving couple, and they make you feel at home each and every visit, (I've been there MANY times!). It's the only place I stay in Gettysburg! I cannot wait until my next visit!

Room Tip: Each and every room is exquisite. You'll enjoy whichever one you choose!
See more room tips
Green Features: This lovely B&B practices lots of green practices and purchases local and organic whole foods. There is a nature sanctuary in the surrounding landscape and lots of options for guests to "go green" during their stay!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed the weekend of the 26-28 April for our Anniversary. We book the Commanders Quarters with the "Secret Service" package. The house is secluded at the end of White Oak Trail on a beautiful landscape. We were greeted at the door by name by "Mom" and "Dad". They are a very friendly and courteous couple who showed us around the house. The Commanders Quarters are isolated from the other rooms and proved to be quite extravagant! There were rose petals on the floor, roses on the desk, chilled cider and 4 chocolate covered strawberries. It was then that we were informed of our dinner reservation times for Friday and Saturday. I would have preferred an itinerary for our dinner reservations prior to arrival so I could work my scheduling around it. The room was fantastic! What a view of the scenic backyard! We ate at the Dobbin House(not romantic) on Friday and Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant on Saturday (I have made reviews for these restaurants). The chocolate covered strawberries was huge and delicious! The bed was one of the most comfortable that we have slept in. The sun rises right in front of you! You will not go hungry with the breakfast. We received a massage at the spa in the house. It is decorated beautifully and the couples massage was delightful (about 45 min). The turn down service was a nice surprise because they left a rose each night for my wife. The dessert was lovely each night as well. The new pool house looked fun, but we forgot our swim clothes. We went to go look at the pool house but the door was locked. I would have liked to have received information about Gettysburg from our hosts (i.e.-places to go, things to do and experience since they live there) other than a book on the desk. There is a swath cut from the groundskeeper around the property which we walked the day we left. Unfortunately, we brought some ticks home with us. I'm sure the owners will fix that for future guests. Overall, the hosts are VERY courteous and are eager to ensure your stay is the very best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I really enjoy staying in bed & breakfasts, and this one is by far the best one we've ever experienced. We stayed in the Commander's Quarters. Absolutely stunning room, with beautiful 12" plank wood floors, a copper hexagon-shaped soaking tub, a private deck, just to name a few of the amenities. The views from the room were breathtaking, and really made us feel like we had escaped to another world. The grounds were extensive and offered a 1-mile walk through part of their 33 private acres, which we indulged in while sipping on a hot mug of tea and eating a fresh baked cookie. The hosts were warm, lovely, kind and more than accomodating. We cannot say enough about this wonderful bed and breakfast! We will be back again and again!

Green Features: They are very eco-friendly, and also are loyal to the locally grown produce.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.4 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#15 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.9 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
6.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at White Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at White Oak

Property: The Inn at White Oak
Address: 1 White Oak Trl, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8039
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn and Spa at White Oak is the premier Gettysburg address! Set on 33 private acres, this grand Gettysburg Inn and full-service Spa with a heated, indoor swimming pool, is surrounded by history and luxury! The ultimate in tranquility and romance, The Inn at White Oak is just minutes from downtown Lincoln Square, Gettysburg College and all of the area's attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at White Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing