We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at White Oak
Ranked #8 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mifflintown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent our 17th anniversary here over the weekend. An absolutely wonderful place. The hosts were more than hospitable, the rooms were amazing, and the breakfast was out of this world. We will be visiting this inn again.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
232
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Every trip to this breathtaking B&B is a true relaxational delight! Each and every room is decorated with the loveliest of touches. The views make you speechless and the food is divine! The spa services I received were so incredibly rejuvenating and the indoor pool is extremely meditative! This gorgeous B&B practices lots of environmentally "green" practices and purchases local and organic whole foods. There is a nature sanctuary in the surrounding landscape and lots of options for guests to "go green" during their stay! The Innkeepers are the most genuine, caring, loving couple, and they make you feel at home each and every visit, (I've been there MANY times!). It's the only place I stay in Gettysburg! I cannot wait until my next visit!

Room Tip: Each and every room is exquisite. You'll enjoy whichever one you choose!
See more room tips
Green Features: This lovely B&B practices lots of green practices and purchases local and organic whole foods. There is a nature sanctuary in the surrounding landscape and lots of options for guests to "go green" during their stay!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed the weekend of the 26-28 April for our Anniversary. We book the Commanders Quarters with the "Secret Service" package. The house is secluded at the end of White Oak Trail on a beautiful landscape. We were greeted at the door by name by "Mom" and "Dad". They are a very friendly and courteous couple who showed us around the house. The Commanders Quarters are isolated from the other rooms and proved to be quite extravagant! There were rose petals on the floor, roses on the desk, chilled cider and 4 chocolate covered strawberries. It was then that we were informed of our dinner reservation times for Friday and Saturday. I would have preferred an itinerary for our dinner reservations prior to arrival so I could work my scheduling around it. The room was fantastic! What a view of the scenic backyard! We ate at the Dobbin House(not romantic) on Friday and Inn at Herr Ridge Restaurant on Saturday (I have made reviews for these restaurants). The chocolate covered strawberries was huge and delicious! The bed was one of the most comfortable that we have slept in. The sun rises right in front of you! You will not go hungry with the breakfast. We received a massage at the spa in the house. It is decorated beautifully and the couples massage was delightful (about 45 min). The turn down service was a nice surprise because they left a rose each night for my wife. The dessert was lovely each night as well. The new pool house looked fun, but we forgot our swim clothes. We went to go look at the pool house but the door was locked. I would have liked to have received information about Gettysburg from our hosts (i.e.-places to go, things to do and experience since they live there) other than a book on the desk. There is a swath cut from the groundskeeper around the property which we walked the day we left. Unfortunately, we brought some ticks home with us. I'm sure the owners will fix that for future guests. Overall, the hosts are VERY courteous and are eager to ensure your stay is the very best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I really enjoy staying in bed & breakfasts, and this one is by far the best one we've ever experienced. We stayed in the Commander's Quarters. Absolutely stunning room, with beautiful 12" plank wood floors, a copper hexagon-shaped soaking tub, a private deck, just to name a few of the amenities. The views from the room were breathtaking, and really made us feel like we had escaped to another world. The grounds were extensive and offered a 1-mile walk through part of their 33 private acres, which we indulged in while sipping on a hot mug of tea and eating a fresh baked cookie. The hosts were warm, lovely, kind and more than accomodating. We cannot say enough about this wonderful bed and breakfast! We will be back again and again!

Green Features: They are very eco-friendly, and also are loyal to the locally grown produce.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I were blessed with a gift certificate given by friends who visit the Inn at White Oak regularly. We were amazed how wonderful this B&B turned out to be. The website only gave a glimpse of how cozy each and every room is as well as the beautiful landscape. The owners are warm and friendly people who make you feel right at home! Thank you Jillian, Sam, Jeanie, and Jay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathygolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just left the Inn at White Oaks and we already want to go back! We have heard such great things about this Inn and it still managed to exceed all of our expectations. The guest rooms are magnificent and the views are incredible. We felt so welcomed and relaxed. We loved swimming in the luxurious indoor pool and found ourselves lingering on the pool lounges to read. We enjoyed walking the beautiful grounds and found the full Spa divine and perfectly peaceful and private. The location is ideal- a few minutes to downtown and all the sights but far away from any noise or reminders of anything we were leaving behind (the kids, work, stress...). The breakfasts each morning were the best breakfasts we have ever had and the hospitality was perfect and just what we needed. You won't want to leave!

Room Tip: All the guest rooms are gorgeous! You can't go wrong with any of them here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed at a few bed and breakfasts and this was by far the best one yet! Beautiful! The Inn is quaint and peaceful. Very friendly hosts and excellent breakfasts! The desserts left out for the guests were absolutely delicious. We stayed in the Lieutenant's room and it is beautifully decorated. Actually, all of the rooms that we saw are beautifully decorated. Next time we will try one of the other rooms. We are looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristylee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,508 reviews
3.6 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,046 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#13 of 27 in Gettysburg
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
369 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#7 of 23 in Gettysburg
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at White Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at White Oak

Property: The Inn at White Oak
Address: 1 White Oak Trl, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8039
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn and Spa at White Oak is the premier Gettysburg address! Set on 33 private acres, this grand Gettysburg Inn and full-service Spa with a heated, indoor swimming pool, is surrounded by history and luxury! The ultimate in tranquility and romance, The Inn at White Oak is just minutes from downtown Lincoln Square, Gettysburg College and all of the area's attractions! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing