We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 10 reasons why we recommend Inn at White Oak”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at White Oak
Ranked #9 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Top 10 reasons why we recommend Inn at White Oak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

1. The owners. The family that owns and runs the inn make you feel like extended family. They love what they do and it shows in every detail. 2. The tour of the inn. You get a map and a tour of the 10,000 sq ft inn upon checking in and it's all amazing. Worth the price of admission. 3. The guest rooms. They are all large, luxurious, gorgeous, clean and comfortable. We have stayed now in all of them and can't pick a favorite. 4. The peacefulness. Before coming here we had forgotten how restful peace is. 5. Breakfast. The best breakfasts we've ever had. All homemade, different courses every morning and every course to die for. 6. The spa. The spa is inside the inn and is for guests only so we felt like we had our own private oasis and the spa staff and services are excellent. 7. The grounds. The secluded acres seem to go on forever with 4 ponds, walking trails, gardens and tons of peaceful spots to sit and enjoy the view. 8. The views. All the rooms in the inn have gorgeous views of the ponds or private gardens. Everywhere you look is gorgeous. 9. The common areas. There are ten or more where you can watch movies in a private theater, play billiards and games, sit and read or relax there is even a guest kitchen to get drinks and snacks day or night. 10. Location. It really is the best of both worlds. It's a few minutes from downtown but it's quiet and feels worlds away from the touristy chaos with free off street parking and the peacefulness is priceless. 11. The homemade desserts....12. The comfortable beds.......13. The different Packages.....oh wait we said ten reasons. You get the idea.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all the different guest rooms and can't pick a favorite. You find yourself ret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateandRob12875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
222
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have you read the other reviews on this page? Well, they're lying. This place was 10 times better than they're describing and this comes from a very jaded New Yorker ( Bronx born and bred ) who's been around the block a few times. We were made to feel so at home and so comfortable that we referred to Jillian's ( the young innkeeper along with her husband Sam ) parents as Mom and Dad and they're only a few years older than us. We stayed 4 nights and almost dreaded having to leave on the next leg of our trip to Baltimore. Baltimore was nice but as expected the hospitality was lacking compared to White Oak, hell, everywhere is lacking compared to White Oak. Hey Jill, I say we come back and make a movie about your place, nah, nevermind, nobody will ever believe it. Well, I say, Believe it!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. There is a great spa, couples massage highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltherug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Everything from the rooms to the grounds to the food and hospitality was first-rate. The inn is conveniently located on the outskirts of Gettysburg in a sylvan setting. The host couple are very knowledgeable about the area. We highly recommend this lovely bed and breakfast inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don-Mercia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were looking for an inn where we could spend a few days relaxing and feeling pampered, and we found the Inn at White Oak. We spent two nights in the General's Quarters and our third night in the Commander's Quarters. From the the moment we were greeted at the door and taken on a tour of the Inn, we knew we were in for a treat. The rooms and suites are absolutely beautiful -- we didn't think it was possible, but they are more spectactular in person than in the photos on the website! The two suites that we stayed in were huge and beautifully decorated. The beds were incredibly comfortable. Everywhere you looked, you had views of ponds and meadows. So relaxing and peaceful! And breakfast. Wow. Who ever heard of a three-course breakfast? And all from scratch! Like another reviewer said, we stepped out of our room each morning to the aromas of fresh baked wonderfulness. And every evening there was a baked treat in the "pantry" (a lovely kitchen for guests, equipped with Keurigs, coffee, tea and snacks) for dessert. One night it was a chocolate cake that was to die for.

The Inn is about 3 miles north of Gettysburg, so it was easy to get to town and do some sightseeing. But that was the really nice thing -- it's located a few miles away from the hubbub, and feels like it could be anywhere.

We were able to see all the rooms, and each one has its own "personality" and special features that make each of them uniquely lovely.

By the end of our stay, we were refreshed and very, very happy that we found the Inn at White Oak. We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rherman512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I were traveling up to New York and decided to spend a couple of nights in Gettysburg along the way. Inn at white oak came highly recommended so we booked two nights. We fell in love with the Inn and didn't want to go onto New York! It was so peaceful, so relaxing, so beautiful, so fabulous we decided to stay another night and even then hated to go! We will definitely be back and will stay longer next time and we too highly recommend this Inn!

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our second trip to Gettysburg and we decided to try the Inn at White Oak even though I was a little concerned that it was not actually in town. After our stay, I can definitely say that the drive was worth it!! While the inn is only a 5 minute drive from town, it feels miles away. Set just off the main road, it is quiet and relaxing while still being close enough to be in the middle of things. The breakfasts were INCREDIBLE!! My husband and I never needed lunch once. Breakfast kept us full all day and every course was more delicious than the last. We also really enjoyed the snacks set out through the day, especially have access to a full-sized refrigerator stocked with sodas and waters. This is always an issue for us when we go away and we were very pleasantly surprised to find refreshments were included. We just grabbed two cold waters on our way out the door every morning and were set. Our room was a little warm at night but other than that, we had no complaints at all! The house is beautiful and each room is incredibly well decorated. The common areas around the house are also beautiful...we just didn't get enough time to spend in each of them. We would highly recommend this inn to anyone. Definitely a first class B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

After staying the weekend at the inn at White Oak we cannot recommend it highly enough. It was pure heaven from start to finish. From the smells of freshly baked cookies and cakes to the incredible three course breakfasts, the breathtaking guest rooms and countless common areas, the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in, the beautiful ponds and gardens, the tranquil private spa, the elegant afternoon tea, the awesome billiard and game rooms, the amazing movie theater, the peaceful decks, feeding the beautiful koi fish in the ponds, helping ourselves to drinks and snacks anytime in the guest kitchen how peaceful it was...we could go on and on. The innkeepers are so genuine and kind...we did not want to leave! We did not know a place like this really existed and now that we do we want everyone we know to experience it for themselves! It's worth every cent and more and we can't wait to return with family and friends.

Room Tip: We saw all the guest quarters and each one is unique and beautiful. We are looking forward to return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyleandbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
7.4 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#15 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#9 of 27 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
6.9 mi away
The Lightner Farmhouse
The Lightner Farmhouse
#8 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
6.0 mi away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#4 of 23 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at White Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at White Oak

Property: The Inn at White Oak
Address: 1 White Oak Trl, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8039
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn and Spa at White Oak is the premier Gettysburg address! Set on 33 private acres, this grand Gettysburg Inn and full-service Spa with a heated, indoor swimming pool, is surrounded by history and luxury! The ultimate in tranquility and romance, The Inn at White Oak is just minutes from downtown Lincoln Square, Gettysburg College and all of the area's attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at White Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing