We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place To Stay Right Outside the Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A Nice Place To Stay Right Outside the Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2007

I am just back from a trip to Gettysburg, PA. I booked this hotel at the last minute after cancelling other plans, so I didn't do the proper research to find out the hotel's location in relation to the town of Gettysburg. I was surprised to see that it was in a shopping Mall. The Mall is an outlet center with about 40 stores and appears to be fairly new. Also, in the same complex is a TGI Fridays Restaurant. The hotel has a nicely decorated lobby area, clean and bright. Check in was easy -- there were very few visitors there when we arrived on a mid-week afternoon. We soon drove out to find the Gettysburg National Battlefield. I was surprised that the town of Gettysburg is in the center of the battlefield. The visitors center is in the park, but also in the center of the town. This was a five minute car ride from our hotel. There were lots of hotels in the town area. However, it seemed that there were busloads of school children and young teens visiting. A lot of them were staying in these hotels. As an older adult, I was very happy to be staying away from all the crowds and noise from these school kids. We traded some convenience for some peace and quiet -- a good trade-off, I think ! The room itself was very nice and clean. We had a king bed. The room was handicapped accessible so the bathroom was large enough for a wheelchair and the shower was made for that purpose,too. It made for an awkward shower configuration -- so I wouldn't book this type of room again -- even though we managed just fine. We ate dinner at the TGI Fridays since it was so convenient to the motel. I wasn't impressed with the food there. The following night we tried Tommy's Pizza -- right across from the National Cemetery. That place was just great. The pizza was delicious. All in all, I enjoyed my stay at the Country Inn and Suites in Gettysburg. I had never heard of this chain before -- but I would recommend it. If you like to shop along with vacationing at the park-- the shops were very nice, steps away from the hotel and open until 9:00.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    228
    58
    41
    31
See reviews for
371
156
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2007

We also had a good experience at the hotel. Friendly staff, yummy cookies, nice number of breakfast options, spacious room. The only drawback was there was less soundproofing than in other hotels we've been in this week...as a result our "wake up call" came via the 5:30 a.m. blast of the shower above us. Overall, we would definitely consider visiting again.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank lettuceleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2007

This is a great hotel to stay at if you are visiting Gettysburg and the surrounding area. It is about 5 minutes from downtown Gettysburg and close to the battlefield and the Boyds Bear store. Room was very clean and well furnished. Breakfast was okay, but not great (there was more variety at the Hershey location where I stayed 2 years ago). There is an outlet shopping mall right next to the hotel. I would recommend this hotel, especially for families as I only paid $85 per night for a standard room.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilGab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2006

When I could not find available rooms for my first two choices of hotels in the Gettysburg downtown area, I reluctantly made a reservation for the Country Inn, which is a few miles outside of the town proper. I would gladly stay here again. The ride from the town to the hotel is much shorter and less complicated than it appeared on our map. There is a gas station/711, outlet mall, TGIFridays, and a movie theater all in the same parking lot. Despite the hotel being at full capacity, it was quiet and the breakfast buffet was well-maintained. It actually was a relief to get away from the traffic and crowds of Gettysburg on a holiday weekend. Our only complaint was the absence of toiletries in our room, which was probably an oversight by housekeeping.

  • Liked — Location/proximity to shopping, movies, dining
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Steelangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2006

Location is fantastic! TGI Friday's in the parking lot in addition to a decent sized outlet mall and movie theatre. Pool was great and awesome hot tub! Rooms were clean and neat, staff was very friendly even in the presence of one extremely obnoxious guest. Some people are so rude!!!

Would love to stay here again!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, neat clean rooms, overall just great!
  • Disliked — Probably the washclothes that they give you for towels in the pool room. Could be bigger.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stop in! You'll be glad you did. Very convenient.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dcholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seattle
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

We were very satisfied with our stay at the Country Inn and Suites. The room, while smaller than our stays at Embassy and Hampton Suites, was comfortable. The staff was friendly and had free homebaked (at least they tasted that way) choc chip cookies. The breakfast was well thought out with healthy alternatives. It was quiet and had good self-laundry services.

It's a little out of the way of Gettysburg proper - but all our needs were met.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Smaller room
  • Tips/Secrets — Reserve early
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LeeLeeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

We stayed here from 8/20-8/23 in a family studio suite. When we were first walking down the hallway to our room, we smelled a strong odor of cigarette smoke. After doing some investigating, we found out that the people two doors down from us were smoking with their door wide open so that they don't choke on their own fumes. We didn't do anything at first because we thought they would stop soon. Yet, after coming back from dinner at the TGI Fridays located next door, they were still smoking up a storm. At this time we decided to take action. After we told Chris at the front desk what was going on, he immediately took care of the problem and the smokers didn't open up their door again. I'm not saying I hate smokers, but if you get a smoking room, be cosiderate by closing your door and opening up the windows.

Besides this the hotel was fine. Our room was very spacious with 2 queen beds, a sleeper slofa and a microwave/refrigerator. Bathroom was big, but shower pressure could've been stronger. We never had to call to ask someone for more towels, since they always left us more than needed.

Contintental breakfast was good with cereal, a make-your-own waffle station and etc. Dottie was very nice to talk to in the morning. Pool was very nice, however, the hot tub was being maintenanced during our stay. Location is excellent, right near the outlets.

One sugesstion for them is to make 2 floors that are completely non-smoking, and one floor that is completely smoking. That way, no one will be bothered. We will definitely stay at the Country Inn and Suites again.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — Smell of Smoke
  • Tips/Secrets — Spend a day at the outlet mall
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ENR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Address: 1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Country Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing