We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations but beware of pets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Geneseo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodations but beware of pets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed two nights during a recent family vacation to see the Gettysburg battlefields and museum. This particular hotel was recommended by a colleague at work who stayed there back in June. We particularly liked the fact that it was away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Gettysburg and was an easy 5-minute drive to the museum. The hotel is fairly modern, clean, and attractive. The pool is a little small and highly chlorinated, but our son enjoyed swimming at the end of a long day hiking the battlefields. The free breakfast is comparable to what you get at most chain hotels these days. My only warning to others is that you need to be aware that this hotel allows pets. I have nothing against this policy but we were in a room across the hall from someone who had a dog that barked continuously from 8:00 - 10:00 PM, and then started up again at 12:30 AM. I was just about to call the desk when the dog finally quieted down. I blame the dog owner more than the hotel but this incident certainly interfered with a good night's sleep. However, it's the only negative thing I can say about our stay and I would recommend this hotel to others visiting Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Ask to be assigned a room away from guests who have dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 653dougm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    191
    46
    28
    25
See reviews for
287
128
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at the Country Inn & Suites for the 150th anniversary of the battle. The hotel exceeded our expectations. From check-in to check-out the staff couldn't have been nicer and accomodating. The room was a spacious first floor suite with a separate "living" room and bedroom as well as a microwave and refrigerator. The applianes were nice to have especially since our stay was so long and the bed was very comfortable.

Upon check-in we were given a welcome packet filled with local and battlefield brochures and programs to help pla our week. Anytime we had a question or request the staff was pleasant to deal with including changing out one of our TV's which had stopped working due to a power surge from a thunderstorm. The complimentary breakfast was also helpful before long days on the battlefield.

The only issue I have with this hotel is their painfully slow and inconsistent Wi-Fi. The in-room Wi-Fi was nearly unusable and more times than not we turned-off Wi-Fi on our phones because 4G was much faster. The problem even extended to the hotel's computer in the lobby area where it took nearly 10 minutes to check-in and print boarding passes for our flight home.

That said, this was our first time staying at the hotel and I can say we'll definitely stay here again on our next visit to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadair6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I'm rating the Country Inn "average" based on the room rate of $284.00 for a double queen with a sleeper sofa. (Of course the rates were high due to the 150th celebration). The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was good. Our room was adequate, however it was in need of some updates(mainly the old, small TV)and a fresh coat of paint. The beds were comfortable and we all got a good nights sleep-very quiet location as well. A free breakfast was included and there was a nice selection of hot breakfast foods that changed daily. Coffee and cookies were available in the lobby at all hours.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pinky1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great queen sized suite with comfortable beds. Having an extra sink in the bar area and extra mirror was great when several people are in the room. Breakfast had nice selection, but the room was quite small for the number of people coming through. Pleasant front desk personnel and overall good experience. Would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I had never stayed at a Country Inn & Suites before so wasn't sure what to expect. Overall, I was very pleased with our experience and will most likely stay at the hotel again. The front desk people were helpful and friendly. Our room, on first floor was quiet and comfortable. True, the room does not have a fridge or microwave but it's not a big deal if you are only staying one night. Pantene shampoo and conditioner are provided in the bathroom and also a Vaseline lotion which is nice. Breakfast was good...they had eggs, oatmeal, potatoes, cereal, bread and real plates and silverware are a nice touch. The hotel is within walking distance of a TGI Fridays, movie theatre, 7-11, and outlet mall.

The only drawback was the pool was closed while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Rooms seemed a bit expensive considering ours was not a suite and didn't even have a small frig or microwave like some other chains do. Room was clean, and we slept well. There were either very quiet people here (and there were young children on the floor) or nicely insulated walls and floors which made for restful sleep. Breakfast was normal. Staff was not rude, but they did not appear to be as friendly as I like which kept me from asking questions - but it was the 150th anniversary week so I am sure they were very busy. We enjoyed leaving all the crowds of town to drive a few minutes here where it was quieter and had the outlet stores to visit. Would stay again, especially if rates are lower out of season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BKCA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is the perfect choice when visiting Gettysburg Battlefield. The property sits near the entrance to an outlet mall that includes a movie theater and TGIF restaurant a stones throw from the hotel. This was perfect for our visit. My wife had an opportunity to do some shopping while the kids and I could catch a movie. Having a TGIF right there was super convenient.
The hotel itself looks very nice on the outside but could use some updates. The beds were noticeably not as comfy as the Hampton Inn and HI Express properties we stay at. The room also had a strange musty wet smell like some chemical cleaning products were used. The elevator seemed very slow to get to our floor. Don't know why since not many people seemed to use it.
The complimentary breakfast was ok. I was a bit disappointed that there were no eggs the morning we were there. There was French toast and make your own waffles.
Overall the hotel itself was average during our visit but the location was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 2,124 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Address: 1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Country Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing