We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel that exceeded our expecations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, NH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel that exceeded our expecations”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night last minute after we rescheduled a Segway Tour of the Gettysburg Battlefield (a must do if you are in Gettysburg) and couldn't stay at our hotel in Harrisburg. This hotel far exceeded our expectations for the rate we paid! We arrived two hours prior to the 3PM check-in and we didn't want to leave all our luggage in the car all afternoon while we did the tour. We asked if there was a place we could leave our luggage and the woman at the front desk went out of her way to find us a room that was available. The hotel is beautifully decorated and very clean. The room was large and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the two ladies cooking were sweet and funny and very helpful to guests. We also discovered to the delight of my wife and two daughters that the hotel is a literal stone's throw away from outlet shops. Great place and great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    237
    64
    47
    33
See reviews for
398
164
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Mills, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here with another couple who are good friends. Both of us brought our dog, which was why we chose the hotel. It was very convenient to an outlet mall. Also, the battlefield, visitors center, and other Gettysburg attractions. THe service was good, the price reasonable. We will probably stay there again. Our friends also liked it.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor. Room doors were inside too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Wow! My husband and I stayed here with our two dogs and we were blown away at how nice and helpful the staff were. The hotel has a cozy country lodge feeling and the rooms were clean and spacious. Just a short drive to civil war memorial sites and within walking distance to an outlet mall. You will not find a cleaner pet friendly hotel with such amazing customer service. Best hotel option in the Gettysburg area...with or without pets!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Breelee143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester MI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've always been a fan of Country Inn & Suites, and I wanted to rate this hotel higher, I really did. It was clean, and the beds were great. I read several reviews where they said the beds were bad, but that was not the case (and I have a bad back!). The breakfast was one of the best that I've seen in that price range (FREE!!), and it was never empty. However, the problems mounted; our phone did not work, and even though we reported it, it was not replaced. The jacuzzi never worked while we were there. This was a problem for me, because I was there for a vintage base ball tournament and needed it badly! But the one thing that would make me not want to go back to this CIS was the RUDE young ladies on the PM shift. Every time that we asked a question, they had a sarcastic repsonse. My wife asked them for directions, and they not only gave her incorrect directions, they sent her to the middle of NOWHERE. Unfortunately, she got stuck trying to turn around and required assistance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anvil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel the last two years when visiting Gettysburg. It is very convenient to the National Park and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Only issues with the hot tub (barely warm) and the pool (frigid) keep this hotel from an excellent rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We loved the hospitality of the staff, quality of our rooms (both truly smoke-free)! Our 7 year old loved the complimentary cookies, the pool and the whirlpool. We plan to make the hotel a traditional stop on our trips from NY south! Oh; be sure to say hello to Esther in the café when you are enjoying your complimentary breakfast. Truly the best hotel experience our family has enjoyed in years!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurieMeyering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I'll admit we weren't in the hotel long--just to come in after a long day of touring to sleep. Our bed was horrible. When I got into bed, I immediately rolled/slide/whatever right to the center of the bed. Had to find the high ground at the edge of the bed and stay within my six inch area or risk the deep descent to the pit in the center of the mattress. Made for a horrible night sleep. As others have stated we had the same bedding as others--either too heavy or too light. The rest of the hotel seemed okay but my experience with the bed is too much to see and describe the potential good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3pies-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,443 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,485 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
542 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
762 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#13 of 27 in Gettysburg
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Address: 1857 Gettysburg Village Dr, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Country Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing