We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll Love It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Brockport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You'll Love It”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We loved the hospitality of the staff, quality of our rooms (both truly smoke-free)! Our 7 year old loved the complimentary cookies, the pool and the whirlpool. We plan to make the hotel a traditional stop on our trips from NY south! Oh; be sure to say hello to Esther in the café when you are enjoying your complimentary breakfast. Truly the best hotel experience our family has enjoyed in years!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurieMeyering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    235
    60
    42
    31
See reviews for
380
160
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I'll admit we weren't in the hotel long--just to come in after a long day of touring to sleep. Our bed was horrible. When I got into bed, I immediately rolled/slide/whatever right to the center of the bed. Had to find the high ground at the edge of the bed and stay within my six inch area or risk the deep descent to the pit in the center of the mattress. Made for a horrible night sleep. As others have stated we had the same bedding as others--either too heavy or too light. The rest of the hotel seemed okay but my experience with the bed is too much to see and describe the potential good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3pies-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The amount of room in the 2 bedroom suite was wonderful. The location was quiet and you could walk over to the Outlet mall and it was just a few minutes drive to the Historic downtown. There is also a free shuttle to the historic area that stops at the hotel.
There is a lovely front porch area with lots of tables and chairs. We took our breakfast outside to eat on the porch.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdefraites1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great location for the Gettysburg battlefield tour as well as the nice outlet mall right next door! The hotel staff was great, breakfast was better than most. The room was okay...the bedding was not well suited for the 90 degree temps. There was only a sheet and a heavy comforter on the bed, too cold for just a sheet and much too warm for heavy comforter. I noticed another reviewer had a similar issue with burning and watery eyes...I assume it was the pool area, that is where I noticed it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobnCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in Gettysburg. The location couldn't have been better. Since we were splitting our time between the museums and battlefields, and doing some shopping, this location made everything so easy. We enjoyed walking to the outlets in the evenings, especially after being out in the heat of the day. Our hotel room was very clean and the hotel personnel were extremely helpful. They were very accommodating when a family emergency made our check-out time questionable. We so much appreciated their flexibility. Breakfast was great - very crowded on weekends, but that was to be expected. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend this wholeheartedly!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura41055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was a terrific hotel, very nicely put together. The rooms are lovely. We had a suite with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. Everything was comfortable and spacious. There is wifi, though it can be a little hard to find. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was delicious and well-stocked with eggs, waffles, sausage, pastries, breads, yogurt, cereal and fruit. The hotel is not in downtown Gettysburg, but it's close enough. There is an outlet mall/food court right nearby.

But something happened to me, maybe at the pool. My eyes started watering and burning. Back in my room, it got worse, and I was congested and it was hard to breathe. I made it through the night, but once we left the hotel and drove away, I swear I felt 10 times better. It really may be the pool, because that's where I first noticed symptoms. Too much chlorine? Too little?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ww1614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcy,ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The nicest country inn & suites I've stayed at. Very nice location, didn't have to deal with town traffic every time we wanted to go to the battlefields. Clean rooms and more options than the usual breakfast. I enjoyed walking over to the outlets, they have live entertainment on Friday nights.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank janet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Address: 1857 Gettysburg Village Dr, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8988
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Country Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing