We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First and last Ghost tour” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gettysburg Ghost Tours

Gettysburg Ghost Tours
Ranked #7 of 31 Tours in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Candlelit Walking Tours & Ghost Hunting offered every night, all year long. Our tour guides are masters at their craft giving guests an entertaining and education experience. On our Ghost Hunts , Professional Paranormal Investigators will gain you access to haunted abandoned buildings known for their frequent spirit activity. Use all the latest ghost hunting equipment and receive a DVD of the investigation starring You! Look for the Black cat sign of Gettysburg Ghost Tours.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First and last Ghost tour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Took a tour over Christmas holiday and were pretty disappointed. The guide was a nice guy, seemed well informed, but his narrative was 90% history and 10% ghost stories. The route was along a heavily traveled road, and it was difficult to hear at times. The "attractions" were not that compelling, or were not visible at night at all (looking at a Cemetery through a fence in complete darkness). We had a senior with us who used a cane, so we asked about the difficulty of the route, and were told no problem. But if you have anyone in your group that is not that able, be advised that you have to walk for an hour up hills, over irregular pavement, and down dark dirt driveways with minimal visibility at night. We did it with ice and snow on the ground as well, making it more dangerous for our senior. We ended up leaving about 20 minutes in. We also were annoyed by the indifferent person in the office - we needed to find a bathroom, and she had no real interest in suggesting a solution (we ended up remembering the McDonalds up the street on our own and drove up there prior to the tour). And our guide was about 6 minutes late or so, leaving 15 people standing in 30 degree weather, which was somewhat annoying (he offered to extend the tour 6 minutes, but the point was leaving 15 people waiting in the freezing cold). We will not do a similar walking tour in the middle of the tourist area again (since you are limited to what you can see within a few blocks walk from the origination point).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburgghosttour, Manager at Gettysburg Ghost Tours, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you had a less than favorable experience with our company. We do hope that you will come back in nicer weather and give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    117
    63
    37
    55
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Ghost Hunting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you are looking for something thrilling and incredible to do during the night with your stay in Gettysburg then look up Gettysburg Ghost Tours off of 47 Steinwehr Avenue, call them at 1.717.338.1818 or email them at www.;gettysburgparanormalassociation.com. They can take you to some highly active places, one of the places includes the Hoffman Mansion which is frequently haunted by "the Corpse Lady" my husband Jonathan and I went there and we can say that the place does live up to its reputation. If looking to do a ghost hunt then this is the place to go. Ask for the hunter named Rob also known as "Night Monkey" he is highly trained, and more awesome then the hunters you see on t.v. Also the fun part about this experience is you get to learn how to use the equipment that you see hunters using on t.v. If you are one of those couch potato ghost hunters seeking a real live action thrill that is fully hands on. Then this is it for you!!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank penguingirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburgghosttour, Manager at Gettysburg Ghost Tours, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review!!! We really appreciate that and sincerely hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't be happier.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I are in town this weekend for his birthday and last night on December 14, 2013 we did the intense ghost hunt with Spooky and Rob at the Tiilie Pierce house and it was exactly what I was hoping for. There were quite a few people on the tour, but you wouldn't have known based on how spread out we were and how large the home is. We teamed up with a very nice couple and received an amazing amount of evidence. The equipment provided was fantastic and although I had my own, we greatly benefited from what they had to offer. I even had to turn down the dowsing rods because we had no hands left lol...at the end we got the chance to sit down with Spooky and Rob and we again experienced an awesome event that I will always remember....being a paranormal investigator myself, I would say that this tour was amazing for the new and experienced...allowing people to basically have free reign but still be on hand for questions was perfect. It allowed for the guests on the tour to learn and be themselves without feeling supervised...Thank you both so very much and I look forward to coming back with my team, because although we aren't new at this, you give people in our field the amazing opportunity to investigate one of history's most amazing and beautiful places we otherwise may not be able to!! Kudos to you and the team Spooky on a job well done! See you in the summer!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadowHuntersJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburgghosttour, Manager at Gettysburg Ghost Tours, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for us. It was a pleasure having you and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cedar creek battlefield investigation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nov. 16, 2013, Cedar Creek battlefield and Crystal Caverns investigation. I attended this event. The staff was very knowledgeable on the equipment to be used and the historical aspect of the location. They were helpful with any equipment questions that I had and were eager to provide aid to me in the investigation. The ratio of staff to investigators was more than sufficient. The staff investigated along side. There was ample time to relax and investigate based on our own pace as we broke off and selected our groups. I thoroughly enjoyed this investigation and am looking forward to attending another event such as this in the near future.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mpbjkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburgghosttour, Manager at Gettysburg Ghost Tours, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for joining us on this special event Ghost Hunt! We really appreciate the great review as well! our investigators enjoyed the Ceder Creek Battlefield, Heater House and Crystal Caverns as much as the guests did. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would never go with anyone else!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have been on multiple hunts, walking tours and author tour. No one could touch the great personalities of the staff of Gettysburg Ghost Tours. Knowledge and dedication of the staff is superior to any other tour out there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bclarke68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburgghosttour, Manager at Gettysburg Ghost Tours, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
How very kind of you! Thank you so much for your repeat business and the amazing review!!! We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Ghost Tours also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Ghost Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing