We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medical Conference”

Ranked #3 of 108 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wampum, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Medical Conference”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our tour was excellent our guide knew a lot of the hospitals, and the aftermath. I would recommend an aftermath tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doc1583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    18
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Time and Money Well-Spent”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Three of us from California took a three hour tour on a cold January afternoon. We all agree that it was time and money well spent for a thoroughly enjoyable and lightening experience. This was my fourth time to the battlefield and second tour. We had guide Christina Moon who proved to be knowledgeable, an excellent communicator and delightful. These guides go through rigorous written and oral testing and are real professionals who keep up their study and reading. They are able to put the events of the battle in a wider perspective while giving the kind of logistical and anecdotal information that brings those terrible, but glorious three days of July, 1863 to life. They carry the appropriate insurance to drive your own vehicle. We would recommend several hours in the terrific Museum and Visitors Center before an afternoon tour. Gettysburg National Military Park is the scene of one the true turning points in U.S. history. It is "hallowed ground" and is worth a day of your life to see and experience. Don't be put off by the winter chill, either. Layer your clothing, with hat and gloves and head out. The visibility is good and the crowds are gone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabrillo1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Informative and detailed. Not to be missed.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

One of the best things i've done. Experience the history of Gettysburg first hand. The tour begins and ends at the Gettysburg Visitor's Centre, where there's a great museum, including a movie and the famous cyclorama. We took the two hour private car tour with our guide, Jim. He was informative and knowledgeable. I don't think he missed out a single detail. Very friendly and good humoured too. There is so much to see on the tour, from the monuments to the buildings, still standing after all this time. The town of Gettysburg is incredibly beautiful and well preserved, with bullets holes still visible on some of the buildings. The stories Jim told us were haunting and detailed. This tour is definitely worth the time, money and effort. If you ever find yourself in the area, this is not to be missed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank brad3987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must do if you want the history”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Signed up for a 2 hour tour and loved it. Hit all the major highlights and he made history come alive. Better than the audio tour.

Helpful?
1 Thank skippermoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the money!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We took the 2 hour tour (ended up being 2 1/2 hours) and were very pleased. The guide was knowledgable and tailored our tour to show us monuments and tell stories pertaining to our home state and even asked family names to see if he could help to connect ancestors. I enjoyed that the guide drove our car so we could enjoy the ride. Gave us a great overview and made an effort to give us information based on our interests. My only regret is we didn't choose the longer tour. This was a highlight of our trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elenvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Association of Licensed Battlefield Guides also viewed

 

Been to Association of Licensed Battlefield Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing