We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY HERE!”
Review of Super 8 Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Gettysburg
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Raynham, Ma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“DON'T STAY HERE!”
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Booked this hotel through internet. The room given to us was a double.handicapped next to lobby/breakfast area. Before seeing room requested another room (3/4 hotel was empty) and was told "This is the quality of the room for the price you get on the internet" and was denied. It smelled and when we pulled the sheets down it was dirty, stained with hairs on it. Husband immediately went to desk and she put us in another room. At breakfast the clerk, and housekeeper was taking the last of the waffle mix for themselves eveb though they knew my husband was waiting for it. He was told there was no more. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    393
    212
    87
    41
See reviews for
525
330
86
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed here with our 4 year old daughter and 16 month old son, we asked for a 1st floor room because I heard they don't have elevators and they were very accommodating. The service was awesome, the free breakfast was incredible and very convenient. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone with children. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenndbln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We went on a last minute trip, and we wanted the cheapest "hotel" we could get. Reviews weren't bad, so we booked. They seem to be going through renevations from the Holiday Inn to Super 8. Our room was super clean and seemed to be new. Breakfast has your usual muffins, bagels, yogurt, cereals and also hot sausage and eggs. Not fancy, but definitely exceeded my expectations. About 2 miles outside of town center, definitely plan on driving everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
417 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Since taking over the former Holiday Inn, Super 8 was wasted no time in making some needed changes: our room was clean and the electric worked. The breakfast was sufficient--cereal, milk; scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage gravy, or sausage patties; coffee, tea, juice. We took advantage of the promo of staying a third night to receive a discount of 33% off of each night. My only two regrets are that the pool is still cold and the hot tub jets do not work. Perhaps the new management will correct this.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I stayed for three nights to putter around the region. Super 8s are not the nicest of the bunch, so ratchet those expectations down. If the neighbors are noisy (and they were one night), you will hear them. The fixtures and furniture will be flimsy and maybe a tad crooked. Service might be uneven (it was inattentive at times). There might not be a pool or exercise room. (Yes, pool; no exercise equipment). There was no elevator to the second floor - though I believe they had an accessible room or two on the first floor. However, within what I expect from this class of lodging, this hotel was just fine. The room was clean and was well-cleaned each day. The bed was decent. The choice of morning grub was within expectations and there wasn't anything stale or out-of-date. The wi-fi was free and reliable (if unsecured). If you show up at night - you won't see the Super 8 logo well because it is simply a banner draped over the Holiday Inn Express sign. Classy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djibuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Imagine my suprise when I pulled into the Holiday Inn and found that it was in the midst of transforming itself into a Super 8.
I am not a fan of Super 8, and therefore do not stay there. Numerous people who checked in commented on this as well.
The rooms were fine, and the housekeeping staff did a great job.
The pool was another story. First of all, the 'heated' indoor pool wasn't. There were never enough towels, and they must have used pure bleach to clean the whirlpool one day becuase the fumes in the pool area made it unbearable to be in there.
Try this one if you're looking for a bargain; search around for other places.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyegore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Stayed over 2 nights. The evening manager was awesome, and recommended some good restaurants for us while there. No elevator, as expected. Pool was small, but good for the kids. Room clean and overall everything we needed in a hotel.

Remember that it is no longer a H.I. We blew right past it looking for the place, then called back to get directions.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#22 of 27 in Gettysburg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gettysburg

Property: Super 8 Gettysburg
Address: 869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 of Gettysburg, PA. We are conveniently located exactly one mile from the center of Gettysburg and two miles from the battlefields and the related attractions. We are positioned closely to the crossroads of US Rt 30 and US Rt 15, directly behind Perkins Restuarant. On your next visit to Gettysburg, please come stay with the Super 8 and enjoy our SuperStart breakfast, free wireless internet, and indoor pool/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Super Eight Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn Express
Gettysburg Super Eight
Gettysburg Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing