We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck”
Review of Super 8 Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Gettysburg
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Reviewed May 9, 2014

As soon as we walked in, my daughter noticed the condom and Tylenol machine at the check-in desk......... There was a heavy, perfume-like scent that filled the hotel, especially the lobby. I am sensitive to smells and it really bothered me. Very dark paint in room with marked up walls, splatter marks on bathroom wall, very scratched up tub and bathroom sink is outside of the bathroom (as soon as you walk into the hotel room). I was very glad to check out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newfie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy53321, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for your review.
I do apologize that you were offended by the medicine machine in our lobby. For being on the smaller side of hotels. we do really not have any other place to put it. It is also vended to us, so we can not just take certain things out of the machine.
We do have air fresheners located throughout the building, in some cases people such as yourself that are sensitive to smell find them offensive and I do apologize for that.
As far as the room markings and tub scratches please contact me so I can ensure that this is taken care of. Although we do room checks and maintenance daily, it becomes hard with high occupancy to get into rooms every day.

You can contact me directly at 717-337-1400 or super8gettysburg@gmail.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

The comforter on my bed had dried blood on it, that was not mine. The AC did not work, making the room stuffy and uncomfortable. The refrigerator leaked condensate all over the floor. The shower was switched from freezing cold, scalding hot and just right. So many appliances and objects plugged in that the fridge and microwave were plugged in to a power strip. The light over the bed did not work properly. It turned off but could never get it to turn back on. The rate on Sunday was about right for the conditions but it was very overpriced on Saturday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy53321, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I do apologize that you did not have an acceptable experience. We strive to ensure that every guests stay is safe, clean and enjoyable. Please contact me so I can ensure that these issues are corrected.

717-337-1400 or super8gettysburg@gmail.com

You can tell by many of the other reviews that this is not typical of our hotel and we look forward to being able to prove ourselves to you if you would be willing to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The room was large and comfortable with a table and chairs for a very reasonable rate in Gettysburg. The front desk staff was very nice and met our every need. Ask for your AARP discount. There is a book showing attractions and eateries in the lobby that was very helpful. Nice, quiet place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewMexicoGrammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy53321, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to see that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy53321, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy53321, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank DMitch68
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy53321, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We recently spent two nights here. There was a price difference between Thursday night and Friday night, but with our AARP discount, it was very reasonable.
Our party was three people - and we felt that the room met our needs.
The room had two queen sized beds, (a must for us), two chairs and a small round table. The is a dresser, which TV sits on, two phones, a small fridge, small microwave. Bathroom had tub/shower, (turning on the shower was a bit tough, but it worked well), and toilet. The sink, with small counter is outside of bathroom, which we actually prefer.
A/C / Heater unit appeared to be newer and worked well. The unit made noise when the A/C kicked on, (haven't stayed in a hotel with a quiet unit yet.)
Did not hear noise from other rooms - although we did hear other people if they were talking in the hallway near our room or when their doors closed, (also common for all hotels we stay in.)
Beds were comfortable, bedding comfortable. Towels were a bit 'rough' but about what I would expect for the rate we paid.
We stayed upstairs on second floor, (there are only two floors) - there is NO elevator. Not a problem for us - but may be inconvenient for some.
Pool and hot tub were on first floor. Open 9 am to 10 pm. Children are not suppose to go in the hot tub unless they are 16 or older. Adults should supervise since there are no lifeguards. There were only about five or six chairs in the pool area.
There was free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. There is one printer and one computer in the main lobby. there were also two sofas and a TV in the lobby. 24 hour coffee/tea in the main lobby. Tables and chairs which some used to met family/friends in the evening and all used for breakfast in morning.
Breakfast, which was included, was available from 6:30-9:30 during our stay. There were two very popular waffle makers for use at breakfast. Hot egg "rounds, two types of cereal, bread (but no bagels or muffins) for toasting, and some sweet buns during our stay. Juice, coffee, - the usual were available as well. No fresh fruit.
There are several casual restaurants nearby, including a Perkins that you could walk to. Within a short driving distance there are gas stations, stores, pharmacies, etc. Short drive to downtown attractions and the Gettysburg Memorial Battlefield.
There was only one person working at the front desk any time we walked through the lobby and during our check out and check in. I think that they should consider adding another person on busier nights. On Friday evening, we had to wait about 5 minutes for her to finish folding towels and bringing them to the pool area.
I don't usually stay at Super 8s - but I would recommend this location and would stay here again. This hotel offers the indoor pool that the Days Inn, which is located right in front of this hotel and was more expensive, does not. For us, this was the deciding factor to stay here.

Room Tip: We liked room 204. View of trees in back of hotel. Not a good choice if you want to see your car in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomofoneCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy53321, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Thank you for all the kind comments. This is correct, we do not have an elevator. If you happen to return please call ahead and request a ground floor room so that we can try to accommodate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
0.6 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#21 of 28 in Gettysburg
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
1.8 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
339 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Gettysburg
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gettysburg

Address: 869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $41 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 of Gettysburg, PA. We are conveniently located exactly one mile from the center of Gettysburg and two miles from the battlefields and the related attractions. We are positioned closely to the crossroads of US Rt 30 and US Rt 15, directly behind Perkins Restuarant. On your next visit to Gettysburg, please come stay with the Super 8 and enjoy our SuperStart breakfast, free wireless internet, and indoor pool/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Super Eight Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn Express
Gettysburg Super Eight
Gettysburg Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing