We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was clean and adequate for a last minute reservation...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Gettysburg
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    376
    201
    83
    39
See reviews for
492
314
82
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I do not like leaving poor feedback, but I want to prevent anyone with children from making the same mistake we did with this hotel. The front desk people were kind, that is about all I can say good. We walked in and the beds were half made and were in VERY poor shape. You could see the wrinkles in the sheets and pillow cases which were a dingy white. The rooms are very old, furniture is old and dusty and the odor was bad enough, we went to the nearby Wal-mart to get febreeze. We should have turned around and walked out, but I had a very grumpy 3 and 7 year old that had had it from a long day of driving. The sink did not drain, the floor above squeaked all night, it was just awful. The bathroom in the morning smelled like a smoker was in the room with us and it was just disgusting. It is dark, dingy and dirty, I am sorry but it is. I would NOT recommend this hotel unless you really do not care about cleanliness and are a avid smoker with no children.

Room Tip: There are plenty of other hotels in in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that the hotel was not up to your or our standards, it is not typical for our guests to have such an unpleasant stay.
We are looking into converting to a smoke-free hotel early 2014. I have spoken with our housekeepers to ensure they are completing all tasks and the rooms are not left in the shape that yours may have been. If you would like to discuss your stay with me in more detail please feel free to contact me directly at 717-337-1400.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Got a room with 2 queen beds - nice size room and beds were ok - bath needed work - easy ride back to battlefield and cutesy downtown shops et al - but they accept pets for $10 - so just okay - but wanted to see battlefields and have a reasonably price motel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB8967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were overall satisfied with your recent stay with us. I would hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We asked for a nonsmoking room due to allergies and asthma. We were put on the second floor two doors down from a smoking room. As we walked up the stairs, they don't have an elevator, we noticed a smoking smell even before entering the hall on the second floor. The hall stunk!! Our rooms bedding had cigarette burns and stains on the comforters. I told the young gal at the front desk about the odor. They put a perfume deodorizer up on the floor. Now we had another smell trying to mask the first. There was a barking dog on our floor as well. We left first thing in the morning. We did not even stay for continental breakfast. I wanted to talk to someone at the front desk. We walked by three times with luggage and there wasn't anyone there to complain to. This hotel stinks!! We spent nine days touring Virginia. We had many nice accommodations which were quite a bit less money than this smelly hotel. I will not stay in another Super 8 after this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyenhuis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. Firstly, I would like to apologize that our hotel was not up to your and our standard. Our goal is for each and every guest to have an enjoyable stay and we can clearly see that you did not.
I apologize about any issues you may have had with the smoking rooms being near you. We are however contemplating going smoke-free early 2014.
For the rest of your concerns I would like to address them personally. You are more than welcome to contact me at the hotel anytime at 717-337-1400.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gettysburg

Property: Super 8 Gettysburg
Address: 869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 of Gettysburg, PA. We are conveniently located exactly one mile from the center of Gettysburg and two miles from the battlefields and the related attractions. We are positioned closely to the crossroads of US Rt 30 and US Rt 15, directly behind Perkins Restuarant. On your next visit to Gettysburg, please come stay with the Super 8 and enjoy our SuperStart breakfast, free wireless internet, and indoor pool/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Super Eight Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn Express
Gettysburg Super Eight
Gettysburg Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing