We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just your basic room and very basic breakfast in...”
Review of Super 8 Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Gettysburg
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Arlington
1 review
“Just your basic room and very basic breakfast in...”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just your basic room and very basic breakfast in Gettysburg, PA. to sleep and learn about the big Civil War Battle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you were satisfied with your lodging choice of the Super 8.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    408
    219
    93
    42
See reviews for
552
336
89
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Andover
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. However, there were issues with our room. We had to get up in the middle of the night to fix a running toilet. The toilet paper holder was broken. We stayed 2 nights and the second day our bed was not made. Maybe I am being overly picky but when you spend over $100 a night, you would think that these little things would not happen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the review. I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and I ensure you that they are not typical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Valley
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

When I checked in the lady that was behind the counter was very good. She was there every day except when I checked out. Fast check in, she helped us with directions and other information. Very nice and helpful. When I checked out there was a different lady working I asked her to split the bill and put it on two different cedit cards mine and my freinds. She would not. I told her I had asked when I checked in and the lady said it would not be a problem. Then she tells me it is company policy to not put it on two credit cards. I informed her I travel alot and do this all the time at alot of hotels including Super 8 and never had a problem. She just didn't care and would not do it. A person like this shouldn't be behind the counter they should have her cleaning rooms this way she doen't have to interact with customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I do apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your check-out. I will speak to all my employees to ensure they know that guests are more than welcome to switch payment at any time during their stay unless it is a pre-paid reservation. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheboro NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

i had reservations booked thur hotels.com and they comfirmed me a room upon arrival there was no reservation and was no room the Super 8 clerk made my crazyness un crazy as i redirected myself to my phone and had a not so desirable conversation wih hotels.com when i was thru they had found an Inn for my son and I to stay it was an upgrade for the same price we left supre8 went to new location and nope they did not know we were coming although hotels.com said we had a room. UGH! here we go again so i got on the phone and had them refund my entire purchase
Done never again will they ever make me happy I ENDED UP STAYING at the most fabulous place ever the Aspire Inn of Gettysburg! Never shall i stay anywhere else but there when visiting Gettysburg The Hotel Folks were amazing and accomated my son and I the room was beautiful and luxurious! the indoor pool was way fun! the location was 4 miles outside of town and very quiet and restful at the end of a long touring day. They are perfect in every way Thank you Aspire Inn for your host of wonderfullness!

Room Tip: did not use room service and did not eat in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank millermorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am glad your situation was able to be worked out and you enjoyed your stay at the Aspire Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I think anyone who wrote a negative review about this place must have been expecting a five-star experience, because my stay at the Super 8 was wonderful. The staff were all very friendly and sweet; the girl at the desk when I checked in even offered to change my room to the first floor when she found out it was my first time traveling alone (I didn't, but appreciated the offer). Most importantly, the room was clean (yes, there were one or two tiny spots on the ceiling in the bathroom, but you really had to be looking to see them). It smelled clean, no trace of smoke or anything! It was quiet; the hotel was far enough back from the highway that you couldn't really hear the traffic. No one else staying there at the time was noisy, either. They had a really decent spread for breakfast, considering what I paid for the room and that I've had four-star hotels that offered nothing. And it was very conveniently close to the downtown area, less than a five minute drive! All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely come back. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. It makes my staff very happy when they see all their hard work being appreciated and enjoyed. We hope you will return in the future! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,508 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#21 of 27 in Gettysburg
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
President Inn & Suites
President Inn & Suites
#23 of 27 in Gettysburg
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gettysburg

Property: Super 8 Gettysburg
Address: 869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 of Gettysburg, PA. We are conveniently located exactly one mile from the center of Gettysburg and two miles from the battlefields and the related attractions. We are positioned closely to the crossroads of US Rt 30 and US Rt 15, directly behind Perkins Restuarant. On your next visit to Gettysburg, please come stay with the Super 8 and enjoy our SuperStart breakfast, free wireless internet, and indoor pool/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Super Eight Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn Express
Gettysburg Super Eight
Gettysburg Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing