We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable price great base”
Review of Super 8 Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Gettysburg
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Clean comfortable, perfect base to tour the historical sites of the war of independance. There is a bus tour that picks up from the hotel this is well worth taking because from the bus you can see a lot more.
Also make sure you go to the square at night grab a table outside the restaurant and watch the posers cruise by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doodlebugxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a chance to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Gettysburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We used Expedia to book this room, as we often do, and took a chance on the 40% off deal. Basically with this system you do not know what hotel you are getting until you book it and then it's non refundable. My fiancé checked the available places in the area with 2.5 stars and above. Super 8 was not listed in that category so we were quite upset when that is where we ended up. With that said our stay was not unpleasant. The pool was nice; the hot tub was busy so we skipped it. The breakfast bar was so disappointing we skipped that too. The room was clean, roomy, and the beds comfortable. We got a good night’s sleep; and when all is said and done that's what matters.

We stayed on August 26th and their were no issues with bed bugs. I am writing this on Sept 17th so if there were I would certainly know by now.

We're still al little peeved with Expedia because we feel like we were duped and have not been able to get any satisfaction from their customer service. Although our stay was comfortable this is not 2.5 star lodging. For one thing there is no fitness center, which is Expedia's defintion of 2.5 star lodging.

I want to add that the desk clerks were very friendly but smokers and previous guests who complain of the smell need look no further than the front desk and the alcove where the smokers gather. As a non smoker I didn't really enjoy walking through that on my way in. If I were management I would move the ash tray to another spot other than the entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found the overall accommadations pleasant and clean.
I will speak with the employees about smoking out at the front entrance as they all know not to and I appreciate you letting me know.
As far as a 1, 2, or 2.5 property we consider ourselves a 2 and the websites make their own decisions.
We have never had a fitness center as we just do not have the room.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We checked in at 11pm, yes it was late but I have my dog with me and needed a pet friendly hotel. My dog was up and down so my mother took the dog out when she came back inside she was screaming. There were atleast forty bed bug with blood in them under her blanket, on her pillows everything. When I got up and looked at my bed there had to be the same amount on my bed with blood as well. Explains why my dog would not stay in bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank squaredjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. Firstly, I would like to apologize for the inconveinces you encountered during your stay.
This was a highly isolated incident and I assure you that we took care of it immediatley.
The other part of your party seemed OK with how we handled everything involving this situation since she will be returning to stay with us.
Safe travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and 7 year old stayed here 2 nights, and we all enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were basic, but clean, and everything seemed to work,appliance wise.There was a small fridge and microwave,a safe,and cable t.v.! They provided a basic breakfast area, with oatmeal,cereal,eggs,toast,etc.(Enough to hold you over,anyways). My whole family thought the pool area was the best part of the hotel !! A decent sized hot-tub didn't hurt ,either. The staff were all pleasant,and even let us have late checkout, and the cleaning crew were solid every morning.Compared to it's two neighbors,they definetly had the best price,and it didn't appear they had anything fancier going on,than this place. We like clean places, with attentive staff, and this place fits the bill. I would stay there again,when I visit the area !

Room Tip: This hotel offers a buy 2 nites,get one night free,and it came in handy for us.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noodleround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were happy with your stay here at the Super 8. If you are in the area again we would be happy to serve your accommodation needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Firstly I will stay that this hotel was not even in our plans to visit. We stopped at Gettysburg on a Saturday night in August, with no reservations. Poor idea on my part!
We stopped at three previous hotels that wanted the better part of $200 for one nights accomodation and thought we were headed to the Holiday Inn Gettysburg. Apparently our GPS needs updating and the Holiday Inn is now a Super 8. I guess it was too run down for Holiday Inn to keep up, and it was sold or traded to Super 8, who really knows what happened there.
Anyway, with my 6 year old needing to find a pool and a place to stay for the night, I agreed to stay due to the price. I think $104 plus taxes... The room looked alright, but the smell of air fresheners everywhere throughout the hotel and was apparent right from the first step inside. After I reluctantly checked in, we discovered the room we as non smokers had, was directly across the hall from a smoking room. It was displayed on the room doors and we left in the morning a little smoke tanned from less than 12 hours here.
So the pool was icy cold, too cold for my husband and daughter to even try to enjoy. And Breakfast buffet was busy, dirty and poor.
I did email the hotel manager already and I was thanked for my input. If you are used to a clean, smoke free environment, please avoid this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tofloridafromtherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. I apologize if you found our hotel anything less than pleasing.
Yes, in 2009 we changed from a Holiday Inn Express to the Super 8. The reasoning for that is we are too small of a building as Holiday Inn has changed their guidelines as far as structure of the buildings.
We do have 5 smoking rooms in our hotel which we do not hide. It is well noted on the interent and on the room doors that we do allow smoking in certain rooms.
Again, I do apologize that you were not satisfied. When we completely switch to non-smoking you are more than welcome to come experiance our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here overnight after a long day of travel and sightseeing and were so pleased! The hotel staff were fast, courteous and very helpful with check-in, maps, computer and even recommendations for restaurants. The rooms are spacious and CLEAN. The bedding was nice and most importantly comfortable. There is a pool and hot tub which we didnt use but thats a bonus especially when travelling with kids. Breakfast with cereals, yogurts, toast, waffles, coffee etc included as well, and thankfully everything was well stocked and taken care of. We stayed at a Wingate in Lynchburg that wasnt half as good as this--for twice the money. We would definitely stay at a Super 8 again---well worth it and I would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mo2hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad you decided to stay with us and found it better than another upscale hotel!
If you are ever in the area we would love to meet your accomodation needs again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We are getting ready to wrap up our trip and our stay here was wonderful. From the desk clerk, Demitris, to the housekeeping. Thank you all for a great stay. Our room was spacious and it was my husband and two of our kids. Beds are comfy. When we come back to Gettysburg, we are definitely staying here. Close to all sites and there is even a mall within a 5 minute drive.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Juytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your review!
Yes, we are close to all the major attractions yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of down-town!
If you are ever in the area feel free to stay with us again!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,544 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#22 of 28 in Gettysburg
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
560 reviews
1.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gettysburg

Address: 869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range: $63 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 of Gettysburg, PA. We are conveniently located exactly one mile from the center of Gettysburg and two miles from the battlefields and the related attractions. We are positioned closely to the crossroads of US Rt 30 and US Rt 15, directly behind Perkins Restuarant. On your next visit to Gettysburg, please come stay with the Super 8 and enjoy our SuperStart breakfast, free wireless internet, and indoor pool/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Super Eight Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn Express
Gettysburg Super Eight
Gettysburg Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing