We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to grasp the Battle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gettysburg Diorama

Gettysburg Diorama
Ranked #17 of 103 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See the ENTIRE battlefield at one time and watch the troop movements for ALL three days of battle. The battlefield covers 6,000 acres, an area large enough to be difficult to visualize. The Gettysburg Diorama will put the battle into perspective when you see the ENTIRE battlefield as it appeared in 1863. Carefully researched and meticulously assembled, the Diorama contains over 20,000 hand-painted soldiers, horses, cannons and buildings. Picture the battle through the eyes of Generals Meade and Lee as a narrative unfolds in miniature with a light and sound effects experience you won't forget.
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great way to grasp the Battle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a moderately priced, 1/2 hour show and worth the money. The diorama really gives you a bearing of the city Nd the battles. There are some historical displays that are nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 44AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    168
    72
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamston, Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

First of all, it's just incredible a diorama of this size exists. To put in all those painted soldiers, trees, rocks, and buildings must've been a full time job for a year or two! Beyond that, though, if you have the time, this place is worth a look, because it will help put the battlefield and events in perspective in a way no maps can. There is an audio commentary and lights will highlight the areas of the battlefield being discussed. Shows start on the hour and was probably about 30 minutes long with some time to linger afterwards. One nice thing is this place is open late (call ahead to make sure). So if your day is winding down, come on over here. I caught a 10pm show and I was the only one there! That was great for me, as I could just wander around the diorama, rather than being confined to the bleacher seating. I can understand the bleacher seating if you had a crowd of 50 people, but if it's just you or a few other people, I'd recommend just walking around, if everybody agrees. I believe there's a $1 AAA discount. Also, the gift shop that's part of this is pretty good if you need souvenirs. You can even get Civil War bullets and shrapnel inexpensively (though not likely from Gettysburg itself, since it's illegal to dig here now). If you collect those flattened pennies, there's a machine out front, and it might be the only place you can get a Gettysburg-150 design, since the ones at the Museum and Visitor Center were out for repairs as of early July. Also, though the names are similar sounding, do not confuse this with the Cyclorama, which is a huge circular painting at the Museum and Visitor Center.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielPofMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gettysburg battle diorama”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited the diorama during the 150th anniversary week. Being surrounded by the scenes from the battle helped to envision what was happening during that time in 1863.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phyllykess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
811 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Given New Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was last here when I was probably 10 years old - a long time ago! The multi-year restoration effort was worth every penny. This is a good place to bring kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O, Fl.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“begin your visit here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This diorama and lecture is a great way to begin your visit to Gettysburg. This model
simplifies the story line and presents the big picture easily. Even youngsters will benefit
(maybe about age 9 to 10). But even adults will benefit to see this demonstration first
before going out to the battle sites. Worth the price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank candic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Diorama also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Diorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing