We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, porch front people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Costeno

El Costeno
Ranked #52 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This restaurant has recently moved from 51 West street in Gettysburg to York Street.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
205 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Tasty food, porch front people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The food at El Costeno is tasty, especially the pork carnitas served with fresh tortillas and delicious spicy salsa verde. MMmnn! Service was fast, food was fresh and the covered porch offered a fun place to watch the (other) tourists go by. Parking is hit or miss, but this restaurant is spot on! It was a little on the pricey side given the area, but perhaps being in the center of the historic district it is reasonable. Nonetheless, it's a great casual come-as-you-are spot for lunch in a touristy historic area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViewsAndReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is some of the best food in Gettysburg. It is the ideal location for summer traveler; absolutely the best alfresco dining in Gettysburg. You can sit on the porch or under the beach umbrellas in the garden and watch the main street of town. The food is "autentico" and mild. The quality of the meats, unusually good for an inexpensive restaurant. I am a local and eat here a lot. It is not ideal in the winter as the inside of the restaurant is not nearly as nice as the porch and patio.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyPuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park MD
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Great Patio Seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We will definitely be going back to El Costeno! Chef Arturo and his team were very welcoming and we loved sitting on their large balcony overlooking York Street. BYOB is inconvenient yet saves you big money that you can spend on their great food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wrestlerUMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quick and Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Taco Salad was very good. Not overly spicy. We just called in a takeout order and picked it up. It was ready very quickly

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIkittymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Forge
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican Food during Cinco de Mayo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We loved the outdoor seating, the excellent service and amazing food! We said we wanted something spicy and that is what we got!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bulldogesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Costeno also viewed

 

Been to El Costeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing