We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tacos full of water. Disappointing.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Costeno

El Costeno
Ranked #51 of 128 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This restaurant has recently moved from 51 West street in Gettysburg to York Street.
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tacos full of water. Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

After having a pretty good lunch there once a few months ago I decided to return last week. I ordered the ground beef tacos and they were so full of water I took the shell and tipped it sideways to pour it out. It was absolutely tasteless. Finally the shell got so soggy that I dumped out the beef added a lot of the salsa and used the bowl of chips to scoop it up. The salsa is good, but that was it. A small bit of iceberg lettuce and a little white (?) cheese. Indigestion all afternoon. I won't be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sundans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Great! at an Excellent Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

The food is great. No, not the most exotic but since they grown spices on site along with some of the veggies, with others brought locally (spoke to the owners and you can see the gardens) you can taste the fresh. Everyone of my parties' meal was enjoyed with smiles and ended with clean plates. I urge any and all comers to try their 'coffee cake'. What it really is, is the best tasting tres leches infused with coffee. And if you have never had tres leches, try theirs and you will know what it is suppose to taste like. Others I have eater tasted like syrup and condensed milk - yeech. El Costeno's tres leches, ..., you will make it a habit (a bad habit for the waste line) but I like the coffee cake -- a la tres leches coffee cake. Only one issue, if the place is PACKED (which does happen) then you will wait for your food and service. BYOB as they don't have a liquor license. One last note, I don't claim that their food is authentic mexican, because I don't know what authentic is and honestly, you know as well as I do, one part of Mexico cooks food differently than other parts. This is just good food at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KenRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Restaurant review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We sat outside at this restaurant and were very satisfied with the food. Service was awesome!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I were walking around Gettysburg looking for any place to eat dinner that didn't require a long wait. After a long, hot day I just wanted to sit down and eat something. We stopped in, and I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was really friendly. You get a basket of warm tortilla chips and salsa, which I thought tasted fresh. I ordered a dish called Yucatan Chicken, which included chicken breast, zucchini, yellow squash, broccoli, and mushrooms in a chiptole sauce with cheese on top and a side of rice. The sauce was excellent and the veggies were cooked perfectly, tender-crisp not mushy. I think it was $13.50. My husband ordered the burrito asada which had a green chile sauce, and it came with rice and refried beans. Sauce was really tasty, as were the sides. Everything tasted homemade. The decor is kinda dated with cafeteria chairs, but who cares? I would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was hopeful that this restaurant would be really good authentic Mexican food but it was just ok.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Costeno also viewed

 
Gettysburg, PA
 

Been to El Costeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing