We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hickory Hollow Horse Farm

Hickory Hollow Horse Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Zelienople, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a very awesome, personal horseback tour on the battlefields. I rode with Confederate Trails in the past & Hickory Hollow blows them away. Pam is so personable on the phone & fits your ever need into this ride. We changed times at last minute because it was so cold in the am and it was changed without any problems. Our guide Tasha was really awesome too, stopping to take our pictures. I will use them every time I go back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    26
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gettysburg On Horseback”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time touring the battlefield on horseback.Pam was a great help with our reservations and getting us set up. Joe was an informative tour guide and Becky our handler was wonderful with the horses. We would highly recommend Hickory Hollow Horse Farm for a memorable experience while visiting Gettysburg.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Horseback Tour of Gettysburg Battlefield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Touring Gettysburg Battlefield on horses gives a different perspective to the battles and why the armies made certain decisions based on the topography.
Our certified National Park guide, Terri, did a very nice job explaining the military strategies and unintended consequences of those decisions. We were glad to have previously read Civil War histories, visited the Park Museum, and had a guided tour by car which gave a fuller picture of the Civil War events.
There were ten in our horseback group which slowed down the tour a bit. However, the horse wranglers gave us the time we wanted to see and ask questions.
We were also pleased with the horses and their owner. The horses are healthy and well cared for. The wrangler attended to horse and rider needs and did an excellent job matching skills to a particular horse.
This was the highlight of our trip

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank McTWaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best decision we could have made!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Gettysburg to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and thought that it would be really special to do the horseback battlefield tour. It was definitely one of the best decisions we could have made. Pam and her friend are very professional but full of fun as well. Our Licensed Battlefield Guide, Terry Latschar is so knowledgeable and friendly she made the battle come to life! The horses were absolutely beautiful and well behaved. Thank you, thank you, thank you for a very special moment on our very special day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank VVMomNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best way to see Gettysburg Battlefield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My sweetie and I had an experience like no other, riding the trails along the confederate lines, through the woods, right up through where Pickett's charge took place and onto the battlefield! It was amazing. The National Park Service guide was informative, the horses were gentle and friendly and Pam, Becky and the others from the farm took very good care of us. We strongly recommend you sign up and take a 2 or 4 hour tour, you will not regret it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Hollow Horse Farm also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Hollow Horse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing