We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”

Victorian Photography Studio
Ranked #1 of 7 Fun & Games in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Whether you want to capture your family's precious vacation or get striking Civil War images , Victorian Photography Studio can make it happen with our extensive Civil War Wardrobe . You can count on us to deliver what we promise. -We offer 19th century Wet-Plate photography with a short hisory lesson on how the process was done. -We also offer the less expensive modern Digital photography.and Now you can rent Civil War clothing for any occasion.Come on in and see some 19th century cameras and props.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were amazed at the authenticity of the outfits and the expertise of the photographer. She clicked the camera only twice, and knew she got it the second time. She was correct. The photo will no doubt serve as our main memory of a fabulous trip to Gettysburg.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickWahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    23
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We learned a lot and had fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We brought a small group of students to the Victorian Photography Studio and they had so much fun. Both the teen girls and the boys enjoyed this. My favorite part was that Del and Trish took the time to explain to the students what they were wearing and why. This was way more than an "attraction" and definitely worth the time and price--just make sure you get a reservation before arriving in Gettysburg. Thank you!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maymomvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had so much fun getting our photo done here. The photographer was so knowledgable about period dress and the history of the times. She assisted my wife first in getting dressed then came to help me. The photographer explained the "wet plate" process to us and posed us. We had to sit still for 16 seconds while the film was being exposed. When we saw the finished product we were amazed. If I had not known better I would think that the photo was taken 150 years ago. This was a very fun experience and I would recommend it to everyone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unique Anniversary Photo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I went to the Victorian Photography Studio on our recent trip to Gettysburg to get a photograph taken as an anniversary gift to each other. The studio is easy to find and is within walking distance of shops in the downtown Gettysburg area. Del and Trish were very friendly and made us feel at ease. We chose to do a wet plate tin type. Trish dressed us, posed us, and showed us the method they use for wet plate photography. We enjoyed the process as well as the history lesson. It was such a neat experience! We spent about 45 minutes in the studio then left and walked around town while the photo developed. We came back about 50 minutes later and had a beautiful tin type photo waiting for us. I would recommend making a reservation so that you can be sure to get your picture taken at Victorian Photography Studio.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
“New Found Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our first experience with Del and Trish was in 2009, and we've been going ever since, bringing family to get their portraits done. We have gained new found friends in Gettysburg, they make you feel quite at home. We have a part time home in Gettysburg, and I have one wall in the living room for each of the families photos. In fact I've just scheduled our 5th visit to Victorian Photography, and as more family comes for a visit, we'll be scheduling more. Thanks for the great experience, and the great conversation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian Photography Studio also viewed

 

Been to Victorian Photography Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing