We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Victorian Photography Studio
Ranked #1 of 8 Fun & Games in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Whether you want to capture your family's precious vacation or get striking Civil War images , Victorian Photography Studio can make it happen with our extensive Civil War Wardrobe . You can count on us to deliver what we promise. -We offer 19th century Wet-Plate photography with a short hisory lesson on how the process was done. -We also offer the less expensive modern Digital photography.and Now you can rent Civil War clothing for any occasion.Come on in and see some 19th century cameras and props.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We loved having our photo done. The owners are wonderful and took great care of us. We were outfitted in our civil war outfits and were told about every step of the process. We got the tin plate photo and it came out great

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mich115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    23
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harleigh PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“IN RESPONSE to naomi m and her poor review”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Considering that my family and I were IN THE STORE when you came to the the door I have some interesting points I would like to add to your review!
FIRST - I never had a tripadvisor or Yelp account and made one specifically to respond on behalf of this business.
SECOND - We were a walk in on October 21, and they were booked solid including the time slot that was reserved for you and your HIPSTER family.
THIRD - As we were waiting for you to show up since 11:30 am, they actually could have seated us and completely ignored your appointment to guarantee a sale - the Owner (Tish) was concerned of your timing since the paperwork (consisting of a phone number and what photo package you want) wasn't the time consuming part. The time consuming part comes when they dress you from head to toe including accoutrement such as rifles, hats, gloves, etc..
FOURTH - On a Sunday morning we experienced no traffic but we also didn't travel with a child.
FIFTH - The owner was NOT rude in any way when she moved the picture stand and opened the door for you. Since its her and her husband doing all the work they cant leave the front door open when they are shooting upstairs. She plainly explained that another appointment was booked at 12:30 and you wouldn't have enough time to change, sit for the photo (a time period accurate 25 second exposure, then the time it takes to makes a plate show with the chemicals as they walk you through the process) and that is only for one pose - want more poses and it takes longer. Add a kid - and it could take longer (most kids don't sit completely still for 30 seconds)

Now that that is off my chest - DO NOT PASS THIS PLACE BY!

We set up an appointment for the following day and sat for 3 poses, all the while Tish and Del were helpful, informative, and period accurate! WE HAD SUCH A GREAT TIME, and our photos came out great that we are planning another trip JUST FOR THE PHOTOS!

Sorry you felt the need for such a negative review of this business - as you didn't even stick around to find out what the real experience was meant to be.

This is NOT a 5 minute black and white photo that they might take at other locations in the area! THIS IS PERIOD ACCURATE, WET PLATE PHOTOGRAPHY. CALL AHEAD, MAKE AN APPOINTMENT AND HAVE A TRULY CIVIL WAR EXPERIENCE!

THANK YOU TISH AND DEL FOR AN UNFORGETTABLE TIME AND MEMENTO OF GETTYSBURG - WE WILL BE BACK AND WE WILL BRING OUR FRIENDS!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank nothingim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS THIS!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

DO NOT MISS THIS! We were able to get an appointment the same day, which is sometimes difficult because they are SO popular. They have TONS of costumes and they help you choose wisely. Our photo came out gorgeous! They take the time to explain to you (ahead of time) exactly how they do it, too, which was fascinating. The owners are terrific and very, very sweet people.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank blankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great with kids!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was very impressed with the amount of patience Tish had with my two year old son. She entertained him with blocks while we were getting into our costumes and Dell was setting up the camera. While we were taking our pictures Tish played with the blocks and Dell used his cell phone to get my son to stand still for a minute during the photo (not an easy task). My son's face was a little blurry in the photo since he moved but overall I was impressed with the photo! Thank you Tish and Dell!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed our visit to the Victorian photo studio... What really makes this place interesting is that they use the same photography techniques that were used in the late 1800's. The whole process is explained as the photographer prepares the camera. Also, as you are getting dressed for your session, the garb, accessories and mannerisms from that time are explained. This place isn't just a photography studio but rather a history lesson cleverly disguised as family fun all while being very reasonably priced. Very happy with our portrait and the experience. Two thumbs up!

Helpful?
1 Thank kadorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian Photography Studio also viewed

 

Been to Victorian Photography Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing