We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costume Rental”

Victorian Photography Studio
Ranked #1 of 8 Fun & Games in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Whether you want to capture your family's precious vacation or get striking Civil War images , Victorian Photography Studio can make it happen with our extensive Civil War Wardrobe . You can count on us to deliver what we promise. -We offer 19th century Wet-Plate photography with a short hisory lesson on how the process was done. -We also offer the less expensive modern Digital photography.and Now you can rent Civil War clothing for any occasion.Come on in and see some 19th century cameras and props.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Costume Rental”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Del and Tish are the best! We needed to rent Civil War Era costumes for a dinner and they took such great care of us. The night of the dinner, they dressed us and we had a wet plate photograph taken. It was so much fun and we'd do it again in a heartbeat!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank jberger4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    23
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southaven, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is absolutely the BEST old time photo studio in Getysburg!”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Victorian Photography Studio is a great place to make lasting family memories. They have a wonderful selection of costumes. Plus, they give you options; there is a choice between wet plate or just digital (both turn out very authentic). They have resonable prices for a quality product. Also, the couple that owns it are so friendly and they know their stuff. Next time I am in Gettysburg, you can bet I will be back at Victorian Photo Studio!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank mkdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Great Experience and a Unique Souvenier of Our Trip!”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We had our photo done and it was a great experience! Del & Tish are so wonderful and warm, you can tell that they love what they do and we had such fun with them! During our appointment we got a mini history lesson on period fashions and the art of wet plate photography. The costumes were fanstastic and the finished photo was amazing. We were so pleased, we purchased extra prints and an antique case for our wet plate photo. I cannot say enough positive things about our experience and would definitely recommend the Victorian Photo Studio to anyone visiting Gettysburg. Go there!!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank opinionator35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Step back into 1863 at Victorian Photography Studio!”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

My husband & I visited the studio on May 21, 2011, a day after our 5th wedding anniversary. We visited Gettysburg to celebrate this occasion. We made reservations with Tish & Del about 3-4 months before our trip. We didn't want to miss out on this unique experience! They were both so nice. We learned about photography back in the 1800's. It was such a neat & educational experience. Tish & Del made us look like a couple of 1863. Our photo is so authentic looking. Our friends & family love it!
This was definitely a highlight of our vacation. We will go back again & highly recommend everyone to visit their studio while visiting historical Gettysburg!

K. LaBow

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank LaBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute awesome and fun experience”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We were in Gettysburg May 19-23 and this was our second visit to Victorian Photography Studio. The owners, husband and wife are so nice and professional. They make sure that you look like you just stepped back in time and they make sure that everything is just the way you want it with your pictures. We visit Gettysburg 2-3 times per year and this is becoming one of our favorite things to do and we will make it a part of our trips each time from now on. The studio is very well maintained. And they are both a joy to talk with during your visit.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank hand79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian Photography Studio also viewed

 

Been to Victorian Photography Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing