We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Adventure!”

The National Riding Stable at Artillery Ridge Camping Resort
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Amazing Adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We took the two-hour history tour, something totally worth checking out. Imagine trail riding on a beautiful horse amongst the battlefields of Gettysburg, with a licensed battlefield guide recounting each days events in an earpiece while riding along with you. This tour really gives you a unique perspective of the battle for a very reasonable price. Bring your camera to stop and take pictures part way through. The waiver kind of says not to, but they allow it and encourage it. I can't wait to go back!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Maelgorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ride On”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time neither of us ride so they we great to help explain and the over all ride could not of been better.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank receiptplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Riding Tour I have been on. Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a great tour through Gettysburg Battlefield. The group is very professional. The horses are well cared for and well maintained. Plenty of guides attended the ride. They stop halfway and check the horses and riders and took pictures for us. I highly rate this tour. Well worth the money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FDague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the riding tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

It was really cool to ride on horseback while directly on the battlefield. It felt like you were transported back in time to when so many officers did the very same thing. There is also a tour guide who describes the fighting for you as you travel the path. It's a long tour and well worth the money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My family enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

It was a nice stroll through the battlefield from a soldiers point of view. My family enjoyed it.

Helpful?
Thank Shaylyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Riding Stable at Artillery Ridge Camping Resort also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing